Flowers—Lines—Ice

From a Moving Train (on a rainy day): Part V

Well, I’ve indulged myself long enough, I think, with my experiments from my rainy day on the train. I could go on and on, but it’s about time to move on.

Almost. 🙂

Of course, I took lots of shots of graffiti.  It was great fun trying to catch the full shot of the images and words I was seeing while the train was moving. With the iPhone there is very limited control, and you just have to concentrate like mad and hope for the best with your timing. I was completely hooked once I started. While the images themselves aren’t all that great, I had a blast trying to collect them. And I did manage to snag quite a few, once I got a feel for the timing.

I’ve chosen to post these two images together for their combined message:

Skrew

Drama

“Speak softly, but carry a big can of paint.”

Banksy, Wall and Piece

 

 

 

16 responses

  1. LOVE this series!

    April 23, 2014 at 2:06 am

  2. It seems, first and second in the series were the abstract images. (Purely the tone and patterns)
    Though, this time they are in “Realism” + added shake and fuzziness gave even more
    harsh reality. I like top one here.

    April 23, 2014 at 2:29 am

    • Thank you, Yoshi-sensei. The train was going a little more slowly here, so I could capture slightly more solid images.

      April 23, 2014 at 6:58 am

  3. Skrew-orama? I’m in.

    April 23, 2014 at 3:43 am

  4. After 5son, what can I say… :0

    April 23, 2014 at 3:50 am

  5. I should go back and review all the images in this series to determine where in the world you were! I’m too lazy … where were these taken? D

    April 23, 2014 at 10:42 am

    • 🙂 I was just on quick ride from NYC to Harrisburg.Great way to pass the time.

      April 23, 2014 at 5:02 pm

      • You’re kidding … right? This looked to me like some exotic location. Silly me. D

        April 23, 2014 at 6:23 pm

        • 🙂 Not kidding. Things always look more exotic, somehow, from a moving train window. There is so much beautiful farmland to see on that Harrisburg-NYC trip.

          April 24, 2014 at 12:38 pm

  6. On my first look, I thought the message was “screw drama,” which I somehow couldn’t believe was what you intended, having acquired something of a feeling for your appreciation of the dramatic–but “screw orama!” Now, that’s a message that I can totally not understand, and it’s way over my head, so it must be profound beyond my wildest imaginings. Surely there’s a kernel of inspiration for a novel or a film here–but whatever, it surely stirred my imagination!

    April 24, 2014 at 1:34 am

    • 🙂 Yes, it was “screw drama.” Just my mood at the time. I don’t enjoy pointless, draining emotional drama, but I appreciate your effort to see something larger and more profound in the image. You give me too much credit! 🙂

      April 24, 2014 at 12:31 pm

      • From what I’ve learned of your sensitivity and your art, I don’ think that’s possible.

        April 30, 2014 at 3:15 am

Comments and Suggestions

