Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

Golden

Golden

16 responses

  1. I wish comments could be recorded such that you could hear just the particular way I said to myself, “N .. i .. c .. c .. c.. e,” when I first viewed this image. There’s no way you took this with your iPhone! And you processed it as well .. right .. you did a really, really, nice job. A beautiful piece of art. D

    January 19, 2014 at 9:38 pm

    • So kind of you, Dave. The light was hitting this lone leaf in just the right way in the woods. It was a lovely sight to me. I’m glad you like it, too. I really appreciate that you take the time to look so closely at my images, and to offer your comments. Thank you. 🙂

      January 21, 2014 at 1:43 pm

  2. I like that. Beech leaves are one of only a few splashes of color in these winter woods.

    January 19, 2014 at 11:46 pm

    • Thanks, Allen. That’s exactly what this leave was the day I saw it in the woods! A solitary bit of color. It looked like the sun to me, the way it captured the light.

      January 21, 2014 at 1:47 pm

  3. The leaves of the beech have always seemed like fragile parchment to me, and have been special for me since student days in Germany. They are also much more common on our eastern seaboard than they are here in the Midwest, and were among the few things that kept me sane while I was working in Washington and away from my family here. This one, with its delicate ice crystals, is sweeet!

    January 20, 2014 at 12:30 am

    • Wasn’t it Thoreau who tramped miles through the woods in the snow to keep appointments with Beech trees? He looked to those leaves for sanity, too. There is something spectacularly settling about coming upon such splendid color in the woods in winter. I’m so glad you like the photograph, Gary. Thank you. 🙂

      January 21, 2014 at 1:52 pm

  4. Wow. So beautiful and delicate. It looks as though it is covered in gold-leaf. Amazing.

    January 20, 2014 at 12:54 am

    • Thank you, Carissa. “Gold-leaf” was exactly what I thought when I saw it sparkling from a distance in the woods. It was an amazing color with the sun glinting off its icy surface.

      January 21, 2014 at 1:56 pm

  5. Paula

    So lovely. I agree with wishing the responses could be recorded as I sighed a big ohhhh………….
    What a delicately fine image to start the day. Fragile as well.

    January 20, 2014 at 2:18 pm

    • Peeeeeeks. Thank you. I’m so happy you like it. It was like a little ragged sun shining all by itself in the woods.

      January 21, 2014 at 1:59 pm

  6. This is such a beauty.

    January 20, 2014 at 5:38 pm

  7. OH, so pretty, Lemony! And so beautifully photographed. I love it’s detail and the background and the color. Just wonderful! 🙂

    January 20, 2014 at 11:32 pm

  8. This is so beautiful and delicate. I love the contrast against the snow. 🙂

    January 21, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Comments and Suggestions

