Flowers—Lines—Ice

Ice Baubles

"Sun"

“Sun”

Little Pie made “Ice Baubles” this weekend, something fun to do in the very cold weather. Here are Little Pie’s instructions (in her words) for making “Ice Baubles”:

1.  You just go outside and lay out some plastic picnic plates on the side porch.

2.  Pour water into the plates.

3.  You collect whatever you want to put into your baubles:  pine needles, leaves, berries–lots of nature!

3.  Decorate the  plates with water in them.

4.  Leave them overnight to freeze!

5. OH! Don’t forget the string! You have to cut a piece of string and lay it in the plate, too, along with the nature decorations before it freezes, so you can hang your bauble.  I hang mine from my swing set!  We bring my swings inside during the winter, so then I can decorate my swing set with ice baubles!

6. You can pop the baubles out of the plates the next morning and hang them. It’s easy! And fun!

"Blood Circle"

“Blood Circle”

"Green Grass"

“Green Grass”

"Shining Like the Moon"

“Shining Like the Moon”

"Red Spot"

“Red Spot”

Note:  credit for the image titles goes to Little Pie. 🙂

60 responses

  1. Nice idea! Did you use watercolors to get the colorcast?

    January 6, 2014 at 1:27 pm

    • It’s a fun activity. We used food coloring, but I imagine watercolors would also work. We might try that next time! Thanks for the idea!

      January 7, 2014 at 1:34 pm

      • You‘re welcome! It seems obvious for me to use watercolors…
        I’ll tell my daughter and look, what own ideas she’ll have! 🙂

        January 7, 2014 at 1:45 pm

  2. That is REALLY a wonderful and most creative idea!! BRAVO!!

    Pam

    January 6, 2014 at 1:51 pm

    • It’s a fun way to play in the cold. 🙂 We did it last year, too, after I read about it somewhere else–although unfortunately, I don’t remember where. I wish I could give credit to the author of the idea!

      January 7, 2014 at 1:36 pm

  3. Beautifully done…congrats to Little Pie. 🙂

    January 6, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    • Thanks, Scott. I’ll pass on your kind words!

      January 7, 2014 at 1:37 pm

      • You’re most welcome…and please do. 🙂

        January 10, 2014 at 2:45 am

  4. LOVE this! Unfortunately, it doesn’t get cold enough here in Spain to actually do this, but I’m definitely passing it on!

    January 6, 2014 at 2:09 pm

    • I’m so glad you like it and will pass it on. Thanks! Some of us might want to come to Spain to warm up! 🙂

      January 7, 2014 at 1:51 pm

  5. I like the idea being somewhere between human creation
    and done by the nature — (like photography. 🙂 )

    January 6, 2014 at 2:40 pm

    • A good comparison to photography. I like that thought. It is a nice collaboration, this joint effort between humans and nature.

      January 7, 2014 at 1:52 pm

  6. Neat idea!

    January 6, 2014 at 3:34 pm

  7. What a BRILLIANT idea. It makes me wish I lived somewhere that got colder/for longer. Sort of.

    January 6, 2014 at 3:38 pm

    • Thanks so much, skadhu. Hey, I tried to comment your ping-back (twice) but for some reason it wouldn’t register. I hope at least that you were able to see the comments. Thanks for linking to my blog, and for passing on the idea. We’ll make and hang a bauble in your honor. 🙂

      January 7, 2014 at 1:54 pm

  8. Pingback: Ice baubles |

  9. Love it, I’m heading out with the kids in a bit to make some.

    January 6, 2014 at 3:51 pm

    • Thanks, Isabel! Hope you had a great time with the kids! There are endless possibilities with these baubles. 🙂

      January 7, 2014 at 1:56 pm

  10. Terrific, thank you!

    January 6, 2014 at 8:26 pm

  11. Love these!

    January 6, 2014 at 8:36 pm

  12. You go, Little Pie!

    January 6, 2014 at 10:26 pm

  13. Great idea! Here in New Hampshire they’d probably last until June, the way things are going.

    January 6, 2014 at 11:00 pm

    • It’s an idea I picked up somewhere online last year (or the year before, actually–now I can’t remember! Because we’ve made the baubles for the last few years). I wish I could credit the appropriate person. Anyway, it is lots of fun. I can imagine that you’d have decorations to last for months in NH, for sure! Make some!

      January 7, 2014 at 2:00 pm

  14. Perhaps this caught me at a bad time, and I’m hungry .. but, why do these all look edible? And tasty at that! D

    January 7, 2014 at 2:28 pm

    • Ha ha! That gave me a good laugh, Dave! Little Pie enjoyed that, too. It might be fun to make edible ones, actually. 🙂 Maybe we’ll give that a go next time. Thanks for the idea!

      January 8, 2014 at 12:41 pm

  15. What a wonderful idea! Love it!

    January 7, 2014 at 3:09 pm

  16. Oh, my goodness, Little Pie! Your ice baubles are delicious to my eyes!. I think my very favorite is “Sun”! Or maybe “Shining Like the Moon”. NO! I think my favorite is “Green Grass”. Wait! I think it’s “Red Spot”, after all. Oh, dear, I cannot decide! They’re all so very beautiful. 🙂

    If it were cold enough where I live in Texas, I would make some baubles with my grandson, Charlie! Thank you for telling us how to make them. If it ever freezes for long enough here, we will make some Little Pie Baubles too! 🙂

    January 7, 2014 at 4:05 pm

    • Directly from Little Pie: “Thank you for the compliments! I’m glad that you would like to make them. I like all of them that you said, too. I have a cousin named Charlie. He is 6! He lives in New York City. We meet sometimes at the museum. He is very silly. That’s all!” 🙂

      January 8, 2014 at 12:50 pm

  17. These are amazing! Little Pie is so creative!

    January 7, 2014 at 5:25 pm

  18. At first look, I thought the first one was a berry frozen in ice, but I read on–and am enchanted! I’d love to do this for the Elf, but it seems unlikely that we’ll be together when it’s cold out for the foreseeable future. I’ll sure send her a link to this post so that she can store up the idea for next winter down in NZ. Terrific post!

    January 7, 2014 at 7:17 pm

    • Thanks, Gary! I hope the Elf has a chance to make some. You might enjoy making some for yourself, too. 🙂

      January 8, 2014 at 12:55 pm

      • I sent the link. Squiddy is enthusiastic and eager to give it a try. And,yes, so am I!

        January 8, 2014 at 11:45 pm

  19. What a brilliant idea – they’re really lovely.

    January 7, 2014 at 7:27 pm

    • Thanks, Richard. There are so many possibilities with these. We’re ready to make a second batch!

      January 8, 2014 at 12:56 pm

  20. Visiting via George http://georgeweaver.wordpress.com/
    She commented on a recent post where I had photos of my attempt to photograph winter bubbles.
    Ice baubles seem like fun too. I think I will try making some with my daughters.
    PeAce!
    RoSy

    January 8, 2014 at 3:03 am

    • Hi, RoSy! Thank you so much for coming over! It’s great to see you here. I took a peek at your winter bubbles post last night, and plan to stop over to comment later. I’m eager to try the bubbles with my little one, too! I just know she’s going to love it. Have fun with the baubles! 🙂

      January 8, 2014 at 1:00 pm

  21. What a cool idea, love it!

    January 8, 2014 at 1:59 pm

  22. Very cool and with such beautiful result. I’m going to try this once we get freezing temperatures again. 🙂

    January 8, 2014 at 6:56 pm

    • Do give it a try, Inga! I think you’ll have so much fun with it!

      January 10, 2014 at 1:44 pm

  23. What a lovely idea! Now if only we had ice here instead of rain and floods!

    January 9, 2014 at 7:45 am

    • Thanks so much for dropping by, Marie. Well, maybe the weather will change in the coming weeks, who knows! And if it does, you can give the baubles a try! 🙂

      January 10, 2014 at 1:51 pm

  24. Little Pie is an artist. These are just wonderfully creative. : )

    January 11, 2014 at 10:46 pm

    • Little Pie will be very pleased to hear that! Thank you. 🙂

      January 13, 2014 at 1:37 am

  25. Pingback: Ice bauble | ingaphotography

  26. very awesome idea! sounds like something my sons would be super into! obviously i will have to wait for cooler climates as las vegas does not so much fit a freezing forecast =)

    January 17, 2014 at 6:36 pm

    • Thank you so much for stopping by and leaving such a nice comment. I appreciate your visit! 🙂 I certainly hope the very cold weather we’re all having over here doesn’t end up in Las Vegas. 🙂

      January 18, 2014 at 2:26 am

  27. Reblogged this on Field Notes From Fatherhood and commented:
    Here’s a fantastic, crafty project for cold winter days. Unfortunately it doesn’t get cold enough here in Barcelona to actually do this, but for those of you in more frigid climes this looks really easy and incredibly cool. Hope you give it a shot, and have a look at the marvelous photography on the Lemony Shots site. Cheers!

    January 20, 2014 at 9:54 pm

    • Wow! So kind of you to reblog this. Thank you so much. I hope others have as much fun as we did with this project! Thanks again. 🙂

      January 21, 2014 at 2:03 pm

      • My pleasure – these are great, even if we can’t make them.

        January 22, 2014 at 7:34 pm

  28. How beautiful, will give this a try when it freezes here, lovely photos too 🙂

    January 24, 2014 at 11:44 am

    • Thank you, Lesley. I hope you will give it a try. It’s lots of fun. 🙂 Thanks for dropping by!

      January 25, 2014 at 2:35 am

Comments and Suggestions

