Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

What would be there

Oct_Flower

27 responses

  1. That’s a flower that I don’t recognize, but I like it.

    October 13, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    • Japanese anemone? (Thinking Cowgirl IDd it). I like them, too. They’re plentiful in gardens here in PA.

      October 14, 2013 at 11:01 am

  2. How gorgeous….all colors there….the “background” of the Fall leaves with the gorgeous flowers on top – just perfect!

    Pam

    October 13, 2013 at 1:22 pm

    • Thank you, Pam. Yes, the fall leaves are all around now. Very colorful!

      October 14, 2013 at 11:02 am

  3. Gorgeous!

    October 13, 2013 at 1:48 pm

  4. I think what makes this picture charming is,
    it doesn’t looks realistic at all = even if this
    was a painting, it looks totally imaginary creation.
    I haven’t figured out why yet though.

    October 13, 2013 at 2:43 pm

    • I see what you mean about it not looking realistic. Actually I did very little processing to this image. The combination of intense colors (natural from the garden) adds to the imaginary feel of the image. These flowers are called Japanese anemone, and they are very popular in gardens around here and are in full blossom at the moment.

      October 14, 2013 at 11:04 am

      • Of course I know the flower.
        They are pretty common here as well but
        normally the stems are more straight and we
        normally see them from the side. — but it’s not the point
        * may be the vision from the TOP and the image was,
        as if it was flattened (with pan-focus effect)
        * and somewhat strange saturation of color = giving an
        impression of, as if this is a printed pattern on the cushion.

        October 14, 2013 at 11:47 am

  5. I like this one. Almost looks like a scene from Avatar.

    October 13, 2013 at 2:54 pm

  6. What an amazing light. All the colours are so clear, even the soft pink glow. they look like Japanese anemone to me…

    October 13, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Thank you, Sarah, for the nice words, and for the ID! I always need help with that. I love these flowers. They’re in full blossom here at this time of year and add such a wonderful detail to gardens in the neighborhood.

      October 14, 2013 at 11:06 am

  7. Very, very beautiful of these flowers.

    October 13, 2013 at 6:42 pm

  8. Lyrical. Love it.

    October 14, 2013 at 5:47 am

  9. Love those colours…..

    October 14, 2013 at 12:27 pm

    • Hey, thanks, Stuart! Although I haven’t been commenting much lately, I always enjoy your amazing photography, well, and your wicked sense of humor. It’s always a delight to see your posts in my reader.

      October 15, 2013 at 3:12 pm

      • 🙂
        Thanks Melanie…Believe it or not, I only discovered the reader page about a week ago…It makes it so much easier to keep up with things..
        I know….I’m a total technophobe…

        October 15, 2013 at 3:21 pm

  10. Wow, Melanie, those colours are something else – did you tweak them?

    October 14, 2013 at 1:00 pm

    • Hi, Richard. I did slightly (ever so slightly) boost the color here. The light just happened to be perfect that afternoon. I think what added to this image was the vignette I applied, which further enhances the featured flower.

      October 15, 2013 at 3:15 pm

  11. Paula

    stunning!

    October 14, 2013 at 3:12 pm

  12. Great and using the light very well

    October 15, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  13. elmediat

    This just jumps out at the viewer. Very well done. 🙂

    October 15, 2013 at 10:42 pm

  14. Magically fantastic!

    October 15, 2013 at 11:52 pm

  15. Lovely!

    October 16, 2013 at 1:05 pm

Comments and Suggestions

