Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

The Lure of Darkness

Out here in

22 responses

  1. My taste may be one click less on the density though,
    quite convincing fine image. I like it.

    May 29, 2013 at 12:51 pm

    • Thank you for this feedback, Yoshi-sensei. Before posting, I did examine a number of different tones and densities, and for some reason this one was the one that best suited my mood. At a different time, I may have opted for something different. 🙂

      May 30, 2013 at 1:10 pm

  2. Lovely, like musical notes in the night time.

    May 29, 2013 at 1:41 pm

  3. Very pretty!

    May 29, 2013 at 1:58 pm

  4. Composition and color are fabulous!

    May 29, 2013 at 2:14 pm

    • Thank you very much. So nice of you to stop in and comment. I appreciate your visit.

      May 30, 2013 at 1:13 pm

  5. Interesting effect. I can’t guess how it was done.

    May 29, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    • Oh, just some play in NIK color efex. I enjoy manipulating the filters in that program to produce what I envision in my head. The scene itself I came across naturally and did not touch, of course. It was exactly how I found it.

      May 30, 2013 at 1:14 pm

  6. Cool. I’ve said before that you really should include some photographers notes to keep us all from going crazy trying to figure out what’s going on in your photographs. For example, were the little flowers resting there? Did you place them? Did you digitally place them? Tell all! D

    May 30, 2013 at 12:02 am

    • Oh, yes. Maybe I should post a page where I explain my approach. That’s a good idea, Dave. One very important thing to note is that I never create a scene. I photograph what I stumble upon on my walks, and do not move anything around to suit to the image. I move myself instead to get a better shot. So in this shot, the little flowers were resting on the leaf of the plant, and had landed just so in that line in the middle, which I found beautiful and visually very interesting.

      May 30, 2013 at 1:17 pm

  7. Very pretty, Melanie…and the dark is too real to ignore…but you enhanced it nicely with the delicate flowers…may our darkness always contain such beauty and hope….

    May 30, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    • Thank you, Scott. It’s a wonderful thought you have about the dark; it can be a beautiful place. These little flowers had landed naturally on the leaf of this plant. I was struck by what a lovely sight it was when I saw them there.

      May 30, 2013 at 1:19 pm

  8. Aren’t plants and flowers just plain amazing?! Rain drops flower drops treacle yum yum

    May 30, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  9. Lovely

    May 31, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  10. You have been having just too much fun, Melanie! I see I have quite a bit of catching up to do. Great stuff!

    June 2, 2013 at 3:43 pm

    • Thank you, Gary, for your recent visit and many generous comments. As always, I’m so happy when you drop by.

      June 6, 2013 at 1:47 pm

  11. Yas

    This is amazing!

    June 5, 2013 at 4:02 pm

Comments and Suggestions

