Flowers—Lines—Ice

“You will find me here”: Floating Dogwood Dreams

Floating Dogwood Dreams

23 responses

  1. This is much more my taste, than the high key photos. It has something magic and mysterious. Do they really float?

    May 10, 2013 at 12:19 pm

  2. Nice composition.
    Normally flower of Dog wood is white, then I learned
    there is light purple flower as well, in the garden variety.
    Still I like to see them white in a mountain.

    May 10, 2013 at 12:20 pm

    • There are lots of dogwoods around here that are pink! There are white ones, too.

      May 14, 2013 at 7:23 pm

  3. Oh yes, I like these. Not that ‘photoshop’ should be used as a verb … but, did you photoshop out the stems? Or, is something else going on here that I cannot see? D

    May 10, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    • Hi, Dave. No photoshopping (I don’t own photoshop). I use Lightroom and Nix Efex (Color, in this case). I didn’t intentionally “lose” the stems, but when I applied the “midnight” filter in Color Efex, (after a series of other filters, including contrast, etc.) it darkened the image enough that they were gone, and I really liked the result. I’m glad you like it, too. 🙂

      May 14, 2013 at 7:25 pm

  4. Dreamy!

    Pam

    May 10, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  5. Wonderful feeling of suspension. I really like the composition and treatment – it’s simultaneously nostalgic and contemporary.

    May 10, 2013 at 1:46 pm

  6. Yes, I like the weight of this one. Yet the images are fragmented and untethered. Floating in space.

    May 10, 2013 at 4:37 pm

    • Thank you, George. There is both a weight and a float to these; I think you’re right.

      May 14, 2013 at 7:27 pm

      • But wait, as the hokey television commercials say: order right now and as a bonus you can have it both ways. A given object will be a weight in a medium that’s lighter, and a float in a medium that’s denser. I think that’s the theory of relativity.

        May 25, 2013 at 1:40 pm

  7. I haven’t seen any dogwood blossoms yet this year-still early here.

    May 10, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    • It’s been a few days since I posted; maybe by now you have dogwoods? I enjoy them very much. They remind me of my childhood in Georgia.

      May 14, 2013 at 7:28 pm

  8. ! they do float – poetic and dreamy – great

    May 10, 2013 at 6:53 pm

  9. Beautiful, as always, Melanie!

    May 11, 2013 at 4:16 pm

  10. Richard and George have it right–they’re suspended in time and space, and when I saw it, I felt that I had to suspend the usual driving flow of thought for a moment to relax and contemplate the peaceful serenity you’ve captured. Thank you!

    May 11, 2013 at 10:35 pm

    • Yes, I agree–suspended. I’m pleased the image had such an effect on you. Thank you for sharing that, Scott. 🙂

      May 14, 2013 at 7:30 pm

      • Woops!!! Gary, I see I referred to you here as Scott! Sorry about that! 🙂 I got lost in my order of replies. Forgive me!

        May 15, 2013 at 11:11 pm

  11. I love it. 🙂

    May 12, 2013 at 6:17 pm

Comments and Suggestions

