Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

My Other Eye

My Other Eye

40 responses

  1. How the heck ar you doing this? Did I miss a detailed explanation? Love,
    Dad

    May 2, 2013 at 3:14 pm

    • Hey, Dad: it was quite simple. I was outside, put the camera right up to my eye, took a breath to steady my hand, and pressed the shutter. Then, I processed in NIK Silver Effex 2 for the black and white. Easy Peasy. 🙂

      May 2, 2013 at 3:37 pm

      • I can’t imagine that a camera can focus that close, even a macro. I seem to recall that I gave you a close-up attachment for that camera. Did I? Still, pretty amazing. As for the photo of me, I just cloned my portrait head onto a postcard image of medieval armor. I mostly use if for my gaming sites-e.g. Battlefield 3, where I think I’m the oldest living gamer, or at least one of them. 😉

        May 2, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  2. That’s not an actual eye, is it?
    I like it whatever it is. 🙂

    May 2, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Hi, Ashley. Yes, that is my actual eye, in black and white. 🙂

      May 2, 2013 at 3:34 pm

      • Terrific! It was the vertical stripes had threw me – but I see you’ve explained that below. The title threw me a bit too. 🙂

        May 4, 2013 at 12:55 am

  3. WOW!!! 🙂

    May 2, 2013 at 3:28 pm

  4. Come on Lemony … there’s something you’re not telling us about this … you’re holding out. What has created the vertical stripes? I can make out the eye behind it all … but it seems like there’s a layer of crystal in front? By the way … I like what I can make out of your Dad’s gravatar! D

    May 2, 2013 at 4:05 pm

    • Hi, Dave! The vertical stripes are a reflection of my eyelashes. 🙂 My dad’s gravatar is made from a wonderfully painted portrait of him (by his wife, my step-mother), which he has photographed and very creatively played around with in photoshop. 🙂 He is a photoshop wizard!

      May 2, 2013 at 4:11 pm

      • Long line of creative people, I see!

        May 2, 2013 at 4:44 pm

  5. Very cool!

    May 2, 2013 at 4:37 pm

  6. This is SO cool.

    May 2, 2013 at 4:43 pm

  7. Absolutely marvellous! And astonishing! Without knowing you closer, I really have to say:”You have quite fascinating eyes!” 😉
    grumble… I have to try this for myself…mumble

    May 2, 2013 at 4:49 pm

    • You are so kind, and very complimentary. I’m so glad that you gave it a try. You were very kind to mention me on your blog. One thing I remembered, too, was that I shot this mid-morning, I think it was, which may also be what allowed for the reflection so specifically as it did.

      May 6, 2013 at 7:59 pm

  8. Ha ha ha, well done.
    I never did this close, because I can’t focus it myself 🙂
    Your camera’s auto focus works very well.

    May 2, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    • Yes, I can put the Lumix LX5 right up against whatever I’m shooting and it will still focus. Amazing.

      May 6, 2013 at 7:57 pm

  9. Very unusual. And creative!

    May 2, 2013 at 6:56 pm

  10. Wonderful!

    May 2, 2013 at 8:16 pm

  11. Beautiful in a creepy kind of way. Very sci-fi.

    May 3, 2013 at 1:16 am

    • Thanks, Mike. There is something sci-fi-ish about it, now that you mention it. Maybe I’m an alien. 🙂

      May 6, 2013 at 7:48 pm

  12. Wow, indeed. What an arresting image! At first, I was wondering what you had found that simulated an eye, but was not overly surprised to learn that was actually one of you own eye. Great stuff!

    May 3, 2013 at 3:00 am

    • Thank you very much, Gary. This is indeed one of my eyes, and I figured out that if I look directly into the sun (at a certain time of day), my lashes reflected on the lower half of my eye–that’s what makes for this alien look of I’ve got going. 🙂

      May 6, 2013 at 7:56 pm

  13. I’m getting a little worried about you now! Careful with that camera!! 🙂

    May 3, 2013 at 4:46 am

    • 🙂 No worries! It’s strange, though, having a camera lens so close to one’s eye, I have to say. 🙂

      May 6, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  14. Seems like I’m always writing this to you, but – stunning image!

    May 3, 2013 at 11:21 am

  15. It looks very much like the gills on the underside of a mushroom.

    May 3, 2013 at 11:21 am

    • Wow, very cool–a mushroom! I like that. Thanks for your kind words above, too.

      May 6, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  16. there’s something weird, almost creepy, yet fascinating going on here – great !

    May 3, 2013 at 1:10 pm

  17. Wow! Love how processed this is – it almost ceases to be an eye. There’s something else there too – a story. Great.

    May 3, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    • Thanks, Richard. You’d be surprised how little processing went into it. The vertical lines are my lashes–I think that’s what makes the eye look so “sci-fi” (as Mike said). I looked straight into the sun so my lashes would reflect in the lower half of my eye. I increased the contrast in Lightroom, and then used the Film Noir effect in Silver Effex 2. I have lots of lines and streaks of color in my eyes, so that adds to the strangeness in B & W. 🙂

      May 6, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  18. Pingback: Augenblicke | Lichtgewimmel

  19. I would think this eye sees just a little differently. It’s a very cool eye, Melanie.

    May 7, 2013 at 12:26 am

  20. Amazing to see it so close up…now that’s a self portrait and a half…

    May 8, 2013 at 9:34 am

  21. Well done.Great shot.

    May 27, 2013 at 5:22 pm

Comments and Suggestions

