Flowers—Lines—Ice

Strange Creatures

While I was in New York City recently with my family, I missed a fantastic opportunity to take a portrait of someone very interesting we were talking to on the subway (Dameion “RhythmChild” Williams), and was kicking myself over it for just about the rest of the day.  At the  time, I thought, “Come on,  I really need to do this for Richard Guest. I’ve got to do it!” But I blew it.  I couldn’t crack out of myself.  I’m sorry, Richard.  I feel like I let you down. Next time, I’ll  speak up for sure.  Click on Dameion’s name above to check out his amazing website.  He is a spectacular dancer.

Later that same day, I had another chance, although the challenge wasn’t as real.  As you can see, it’s pretty obvious these two guys were looking for attention. But, I did ask permission to take their pictures, and they kindly obliged.  Lucky for me,  they were in silent mode, which gave me the chance to quickly turn my dials and snap the shot.  I have no idea why they were wandering about in these costumes, but I suspect it was related to some publicity for a film.

Creature 2

Creature 1

13 responses

  1. Okay, you’re off the hook since you did get these wonderful photos! 🙂 I really like the processing too.

    March 23, 2013 at 4:01 am

    • Thanks, George. I really wish I had had more time to set up these shots. It was a bit nerve-wracking. I had another photograph of the first guy with a great photobomber, doing peace-signs through the window at me in the shop behind. It was hard to decide which one to post. 🙂 As for the processing, I still need practice. I have a hard time judging a number of things with the black & white.

      March 23, 2013 at 5:44 pm

  2. WOW…….that’s NYC for you…..never a dull moment! Great photos……

    Pam

    March 23, 2013 at 10:25 am

  3. Asking someone if you can take their picture puts them on the spot and you can never be sure how they’ll react. I imagine New Yorkers walking right by the “creatures” as if they were just another everyday sight.

    March 23, 2013 at 12:17 pm

    • You’re right; you could really never know in advance how someone might react; although, I expect with practice, you might get some sense of who might be a willing participant. I’m such an introvert, I doubt I’ll ever develop a habit of it. 🙂

      March 23, 2013 at 5:48 pm

  4. elmediat

    Photo-bomber could work with the right processing. 😀 These are great shots. I will make sure my son sees these. 🙂

    March 23, 2013 at 9:12 pm

    • Thanks, Joseph. I appreciate the encouragement, and your suggestion. I’ll work on the one with the photo-bomber, and show it to you to see what you think. Do you have a suggestion for what the “right processing” might be? A direction to take anyway?

      March 24, 2013 at 9:58 pm

      • elmediat

        If you want to get rid of said bomber, depending on the shot, you could try blurring/vignette around Alien person. Depending on how that works it could look anachronistic -old time photo with future alien.The other approach might be a caption or news-magazine style photo. Make the bomber part of the story without making him look like a hero – perhaps an Alien conquest sympathizer. 🙂

        March 24, 2013 at 10:43 pm

  5. Is the first one supposed to be the Alien from the Sigourney Weaver film? Sort of looks like it, but maybe more so if he put his head way back…the second is an amazing mask of the Predator. You’re lucky that they not only let you do portrait shots but also let you go on your way unscathed. Love how you’ve left a bit of color only in the Predator’s face.

    March 23, 2013 at 9:48 pm

    • You must be right! Thanks, Gary. I really had no context or background to identify these characters myself. I haven’t seen either one of those movies! I appreciate your help with the IDs!

      March 24, 2013 at 10:06 pm

  6. Excellent shots – love the slight incline of the alien’s head – there’s something quite animalistic about it. Thanks very much for the mention! 🙂 Dameion looks v interesting too. It’s very tough making that first approach – I still duck it sometimes when the stakes seem too high, and I doubt I would ever approach anyone in the underground – it seems much easier in the street.

    March 24, 2013 at 9:56 am

    • Thanks, Richard. I’m sure, after our conversation with him, that Dameion would totally have been willing to let me take his photo, but I just couldn’t bring myself to ask for some reason. It was strange. Oh well! I’m glad I sort of got a second chance. The experience and all of my thinking about it really made me admire and respect what you do all the more.

      March 24, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Comments and Suggestions

