Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

Atticus

Atticus/Pew

29 responses

  1. Oh my, how very pretty. Wonderful light! And the background too. I really do like this, Atticus! You are such a fine model. 🙂

    March 11, 2013 at 10:51 pm

  2. What a wonderful name for a cat! He is very beautiful!

    March 11, 2013 at 11:09 pm

  3. Your cat looks gorgeous.
    Is that, Roman name, Atticus — or Greek ?
    (Don’t tell me, born in attic. 😀 )
    When my Roman (well, so-called Italian) friend heard
    the name of my cats, Pipi and Kaka, she got very angry.
    —– though, cats themselves seemed not to care at all.

    March 11, 2013 at 11:34 pm

    • It’s Roman, although Atticus would certainly not have minded one bit had it derived from having been born in an attic. 🙂 I’m sure the vet’s office had a good laugh every time you called to schedule appointments for Pipi and Kaka. I have to admit, that’s the first time I’ve heard names like that for cats. My sister and I call each other “Poupie” all the time–short for Poupette (a version of babydoll in French); you can imagine that the sound of that word turns some heads when we say it, but it has a meaning of its own for us, and we don’t even think about the connotation the sound of the word has for anglophones.

      March 11, 2013 at 11:56 pm

  4. Beautiful light on a beautiful kitty! Well done!

    March 12, 2013 at 12:04 am

  5. The soft focus belies his intent gaze. I really like how the deep rose cushion is reflected in his snowy chest.

    March 12, 2013 at 1:03 am

    • Wonderful comment and observations, Gary. You have a very keen eye. 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:36 pm

  6. Tell me that you used a tripod and remote shuttering. Incredible clarity and beauty here. 🙂 🙂

    March 12, 2013 at 1:07 am

    • No… it was the luck of the light, and the fact that Atticus was sitting very, very still, transfixed by something that caught his eye out the window. 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:32 pm

  7. This shot blew me away. It reminds me of a still life from the Renaissance. Atticus….To Kill a Mockingbird? Also, I hope you don’t mind, I read your other comments, the Pipi, Kaka names made me laugh out loud. My kids had such potty mouths when they were little, and anything about the bathroom would have the doubled over in laughter. Go figure! They’re pretty normal teenagers, now…I’ll have to tell them about your commenter.

    March 12, 2013 at 2:27 am

    • Thank you so much, Elisa, for your nice compliment about the shot. Yes, Atticus Finch, To Kill a Mocking Bird. And yes, Yoshi-sensei’s comments were pretty funny! I’m sure your kids will have a good laugh. 😀 My little one also finds that kind of talk hilarious. Thanks for your visit! 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:46 pm

  8. So sweet!!! Love the light!

    March 12, 2013 at 4:04 am

  9. Shutterbug Sage

    SUCH a gorgeous cat captured in such beautiful light!

    March 12, 2013 at 4:39 am

    • Thank you! I’m still trying to figure out to capture his little cotton bunny tail. He’s either lying like this or hopping around on the move… 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:47 pm

  10. You know how much I love cats… So this is amazing so beautiful cat. But there is more than this in this photograph, so artistic, you captured a wonderful light with cat and with these pillows… Fascinated me. Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, love, nia

    March 12, 2013 at 6:55 am

    • Thank you, nia. The light was just right coming through the window for this one. 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:48 pm

  11. Absolutely wonderful capture – the pattern on the cushion is perfect and the lighting is like something from a Dutch 17th Century painting. Atticus is a very fine individual.

    March 12, 2013 at 8:53 am

    • Thank you, Richard. I sort of wished the cushion was positioned a bit differently, since it looks like Atticus has plumes coming out of his head, but I knew that if I tried to change it, Atticus would have hopped up! So, I took what I could get. 🙂

      March 12, 2013 at 2:49 pm

  12. What a perfectly gorgeous shot of Atticus! He’s quite handsome………

    Pam

    March 12, 2013 at 11:12 am

  13. Beautiful pet portrait!

    March 12, 2013 at 1:18 pm

  14. Sweet! And also very beautyful picture! The colours, composition and the quality make me think of an old painting.

    March 12, 2013 at 11:06 pm

  15. Excellent! so sweet and fantastic super star!!

    March 14, 2013 at 10:07 am

    • Thank you so much, Canon. He’s my little sweet bun! 🙂

      March 18, 2013 at 1:40 am

Comments and Suggestions

