Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

All of this… everyday… to breathe

Air

33 responses

  1. Great image and message too.

    March 5, 2013 at 3:44 pm

  2. Once again … the iPhone is doing wonders. I like the way you’re treated the colors here. Regarding the respiratory system … will spring bring relief, or will that make things worse? D

    March 5, 2013 at 4:07 pm

    • Thank you for your nice words about the image. I’m really fairly new to these breathing problems, and after three bouts of pneumonia in the past year and a half, this is what I’m left with. We’ll see what spring brings!

      March 5, 2013 at 4:12 pm

  3. Oh dear, I didn’t know you got respiratory problem —– yet still, you hold your breath to get sharp focus,
    and crouching on the ice ? I hope your photography didn’t aggravate your health.
    “iPhone’s camera is good to capture decaying past” wouldn’t make a joke. = It isn’t a good mind-set.
    My climbing boots, mended socks were not the decaying past but the witness how I fought against it.
    This is the mind-set of a man who doesn’t need to have any medicine other than plaster tape for cut.
    I hope you wouldn’t be distracted by the condition. And the air of spring should ease it.

    March 5, 2013 at 4:59 pm

    • I’m glad to know that you are in such good health. I will be fine, and am adjusting to these circumstances. I was just struck yesterday by the absurdity of all the medications. The struggle with my lungs is the result of these several bouts with pneumonia and in many ways, I really suspect the environment (and even the building I’m working in, given that the colleague (now retired) who preceded me in the very office I occupy suffers now from a chronic and undiagnosed lung disease). Nothing really distracts me when I’m taking photographs. In fact, photography is one of the best ways I find to rest my mind, if you know what I mean.

      March 6, 2013 at 2:09 pm

  4. A wonderful image Melony. Sorry to hear of your health problems. I hope you’re much better soon!

    March 5, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian, for your good wishes, and for your kind words about the image. I’m sure once the weather warms up, I’ll be feeling much better!

      March 6, 2013 at 2:20 pm

  5. What in the world? Child, you really must take better care of Lemony! I like the photo, but I don’t like the subject! 🙂

    March 5, 2013 at 8:32 pm

    • I’m taking care! No worries! 🙂 I’ll be breathing much more easily (supposedly), once the summer months come around. In the meantime, I was just struck by the ridiculous number of medications in my pile. … I am starting to wonder, I must say, about my office, and the potential environmental hazards in the walls. My colleague (retired now for 10 years or so), who had that office before me, developed a chronic lung disease, that has not yet been diagnosed… I never had any respiratory problems until the last couple of years. …

      March 6, 2013 at 2:30 pm

      • Kelli has horrible breathing problems, but she’s allergic to a whole bunch of stuff including a desperate allergy to dust mites, of all things, that nobody can rid us of! I don’t think we were designed to hang out in air-tight enclosures with such little creatures! 🙂

        March 6, 2013 at 4:04 pm

        • I’m sorry to hear Kelli deals with the same problem. It sounds, from other conversations elsewhere, like she and I share a number of similar health-related concerns.

          March 7, 2013 at 4:50 pm

  6. Hopefully, the problems now are a result of subsequent inflammation, and your may be able to reduce and or leave the meds behind. I hope so.

    March 5, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    • Thanks, Elena. I’m hoping that things that will be much better in a few months. Looking forward to summer! 🙂

      March 6, 2013 at 2:31 pm

  7. I’m sorry to hear about your breathing problems Melanie. After having pneumonia twice I’m real careful now and stay bundled up in cool weather. I still carry a rescue inhaler, but can’t remember the last time I used it. I found that worrying that I’d have an episode caused a lot of anxiety and actually made the problem worse, so the docs gave me some calm-me-down-pills and that helped a lot. I hope you’ll see some improvement soon.

    March 6, 2013 at 11:28 am

    • Allen, pneumonia is scary stuff, isn’t it. I’m sorry to hear you’ve had two bouts with it. It’s good you’re managing things successfully now. I’m assuming, too, that you’ve had the pneumonia vaccine? (I just was finally in well enough condition to get one last week). I do expect (based on what my doctor has told me) that by the start of summer, I should be much better. I basically now have full blown asthma, which is such a shock to me, having had such healthy respiratory system my whole life until this point.

      March 6, 2013 at 2:36 pm

      • I didn’t even know that there was such a thing as a pneumonia vaccine! Now that I’m not gardening professionally anymore I don’t have much to worry about, but when I was younger it was bad, with a lot of bronchial stuff going on.I used to breathe in a lot of dust, pollen, etc. which didn’t help. I’m not really surprised that asthma came on so suddenly-my daughter had the same problem-right out of the blue with no warning. Keep the rescue inhaler handy! Personnally, I think we’re poisoning ourselves. You can’t expect that dumping tons of junk into the atmosphere for 100 years wouldn’t have some toxic effects.

        March 7, 2013 at 11:42 am

  8. Powerful image and title. Very cool.

    March 6, 2013 at 7:06 pm

  9. I haven’t click the like button. I wanted to, because the photo is nicely made. But I don’t like that you have to take all these medicine because of health problems. I hope you feel better soon. There is nothing more important than a good health.

    March 6, 2013 at 7:33 pm

    • Thanks for your nice words, and good wishes! I agree, good health is so important!

      March 7, 2013 at 4:52 pm

  10. Oh I recognise most of those….I use them too 🙂 it’s a very strange feeling to suddenly be dependant on medication just to breathe. I developed adult onset asthma 3 years ago, never having had any problems breathing before, so really get where you’re coming from with this post.

    March 6, 2013 at 8:57 pm

    • Seonaid, thank you for your comment and for sharing your own experience. Yes, isn’t it so strange for this to come on out of the blue! I worry so much for our environment and the air for future generations.

      March 7, 2013 at 4:53 pm

  11. I suffer from asthma. It has become much more serious in the last year. In fact, I recently had my first ambulance ride because the asthma triggered a spasm of the larynx and I couldn’t get air In or Out. Thanks for the timely photo! I love your work.

    March 6, 2013 at 9:20 pm

    • Wow, that’s really scary! I’m sorry to hear that your asthma has become so much more serious! It’s worrisome to think what we’re doing to our air and how it will impact (and is impacting) children and futre generations.

      March 7, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    • Thank you, by the way, for your very nice words about my work.

      March 7, 2013 at 4:54 pm

  12. Wordsmyth8

    I am so sorry to hear about this. Some years back, I had three bouts of bronchitis in about a two-month period. I began to wheeze at night and started using an inhaler – all if which was unthinkable to me, especially after having lived with a partner with terrible asthma who used an inhaler several times daily and for whom trips to the ER were not uncommon. But as time passed, my health returned and it all became a temporary blip. I hope that will be the case for you.

    March 7, 2013 at 1:19 am

    • Wow… Isn’t it amazing how quickly things can get worse, and then, in your case, with time, can get better. Thank you for your encouraging words, and for sharing your story! I appreciate it!

      March 7, 2013 at 4:55 pm

  13. I had no idea you have been having such terrible health issues. I do hope it is resolved soon. Great photo, but oy!

    March 8, 2013 at 7:55 am

    • Thanks. I think I’ll be breathing more easily in a couple of months. In the meantime, we’re starting to see some sunshine around here, and that’s already making me feel better. 🙂

      March 11, 2013 at 1:26 pm

  14. No fun. They’re such a drag all those things (I used to be asthmatic) – I hope you can leave them all behind in the Summer.

    March 8, 2013 at 8:43 pm

  15. elmediat

    Hope the air clears. Turning a challenge into creative expression helps, but better health is the real goal. You really need to check the health & safety issues of your working environment. 🙂

    March 10, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    • Thank you. Yes, I do need to have someone come in to check the work space, not just for me, for others who may also be affected.

      March 11, 2013 at 1:35 pm

Comments and Suggestions

