Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

Slants of Light in a Winter Wood

The Woods

18 responses

  1. Nice tones and lines in this abstract, Lemony. There is tension there too. And the suggestion of motion. Very nice.

    March 2, 2013 at 4:44 am

    • Thank you, George. It was a bit of an experiment. I need to stretch myself and try different things. I feel a big change coming. I have new camera, you know… And it’s a bit daunting. 🙂 (I didn’t use it for this shot.) I need to just launch myself and go with whatever happens, I think, and not worry about what comes out in the beginning.

      March 2, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  2. I think, you used this technique three times. First in a rash green woods,
    second with poppy, getting painting like an effect.
    And amazingly, certainly you got a composition, a painter would have had painted.
    Yet still, I’m not sure how the lines maintain their baldness, without disintegrating,
    whether it was because well focused or because of the camera’s image stabilizer ?
    I like your choice to give almost washed off sepia tone to balance their baldness.
    End result is beautiful. (Sorry, my click to [Like] doesn’t work)

    March 2, 2013 at 5:07 am

    • You have an incredible memory! You’ve demonstrated this before, but WOW! You’re exactly right. I used this technique exactly on those occasions you’ve mentioned. I think the camera is in large part responsible for the focus that is maintained in the shot. I’m glad you like the end result. I debated about the the sepia tones, but when I saw the result, I felt they communicated precisely what I was aiming for. Thank you.

      March 2, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  3. Oh I really like this!

    March 2, 2013 at 7:19 am

    • Thank you, Anne Rose. I’m glad for your feedback, and for your visit!

      March 2, 2013 at 7:55 pm

  4. Love the tones and atmosphere in this 🙂

    March 2, 2013 at 7:40 am

  5. I’m glad someone is seeing some sunshine! We haven’t seen much of it here for 10 days or more.

    March 2, 2013 at 11:36 am

  6. Ooohh…I really love this!

    March 3, 2013 at 6:25 am

  7. This is really painterly – amazing what you can do with a camera! I’m actually considering doing some painting and might try and work from a photo to begin with, any tips how to get this effect?

    March 5, 2013 at 8:54 am

    • I just set my camera (a Panasonic Lumix LX5, in this case), to a very slow shutter speed (as slow as possible to keep things in focus with the light that you have available), and set my aperture to f8, I think (but you can experiment with the aperture to achieve the effect you like), and just slowly moved my camera up the trees. I took lots, and ended up with lots of fun, ghostly sorts of images. They work well in black & white, too. I can imagine it would be fun to work from something like this for a painting! Good luck!

      March 5, 2013 at 3:24 pm

  8. Lovely effect, Melanie. I’ve played with this technique a bit, but always with color. This is really nice. You inspire me.

    March 8, 2013 at 7:46 am

    • Thank you, Carissa, for these very nice words. I like trying this effect out in different places and with different filters. Usually, it doesn’t turn out as I envision, but sometimes it matches what I’m seeing in my imagination.

      March 11, 2013 at 1:25 pm

  9. elmediat

    Beautiful. 🙂

    March 10, 2013 at 7:38 pm

Comments and Suggestions

