Flowers—Lines—Ice

Frozen Bubbles in Motion

1

P1230002

2

P1230004

27 responses

  1. So amazing…and still intriguing.

    January 30, 2013 at 2:17 am

  2. fantastic photo

    January 30, 2013 at 2:55 am

  3. Love these, just gorgeous.

    January 30, 2013 at 3:19 am

    • Thank you, skadhu. I’m so glad you like them. I almost didn’t post them!

      January 31, 2013 at 7:39 pm

  4. I love these and look forward to what you will exhibit next!

    January 30, 2013 at 3:23 am

  5. elmediat

    Time travel distortion. Beautiful shots.:)

    January 30, 2013 at 4:37 am

    • I like the idea of these shots, but I am troubled by the glare. I almost didn’t post them. Maybe I’m being overly critical, but I feel like they detract from the images, especially the second one. Ice is tricky that way. I try all kinds of things to avoid the glare while taking the shot, but sometimes I find it after the fact. Any tips for how I can handle it in post-processing?

      January 31, 2013 at 7:42 pm

      • elmediat

        Are you using manual settings? If this is glare from flash. then you may be successful with altered settings and turning off the flash.
        Sometimes I have seen able to remove some glare by converting the image to B&W. Don’t know if that was helpful at all. There is a point with the technical side of photography where my mind glazes over and I rely on “trying stuff”. 🙂
        Thees images work for me. There is sharp detail and the white areas emphasize that there is an ice surface.

        February 3, 2013 at 3:47 am

        • I always work in manual, and never use a flash (well, rarely I do use a ring flash for macros but did not use flash at all for my ice shots). I think you’re right that I just need to keep “trying stuff” 🙂 .

          February 5, 2013 at 3:13 am

  6. klaasfidom

    Another super bubble!

    January 30, 2013 at 6:50 am

  7. Creeping amoeba, certainly. Now, this is very strange. I like +++

    January 30, 2013 at 7:19 am

    • Creeping amoeba, I love it! I was just telling Joseph that I struggled with the glare in these two shots, and almost didn’t post them. I can usually take care of the glare on site by repositioning myself, etc., but when I see it in the image after the shot, I’m not sure what to do about it, and it interferes with the image. Have you encountered any tips about that in your post-processing travels? Ice is a particularly “glary” subject.

      January 31, 2013 at 7:46 pm

  8. What beautiful clear ice. I don’t see much of it that is that clear and safe enough to walk on at the same time.

    January 30, 2013 at 11:29 am

    • Yes, the pond has lots of very clear sections to it that make for wonderful windows to the world beneath.

      January 31, 2013 at 7:50 pm

  9. If only they’d make a lava lamp like this.

    January 30, 2013 at 11:38 am

  10. Julie Raulli

    Lemony, I’ve LOVED the recent posts of bubbles and orbs. They are both beautiful and mysterious.

    January 30, 2013 at 2:30 pm

    • Thank you, Julie! I’m so glad you’re enjoying them so much! 🙂

      January 31, 2013 at 7:51 pm

  11. Beautiful shots again. Such fascinating forms. I wish I understood more about physics.

    January 30, 2013 at 10:07 pm

    • Thank you, Richard. I’m with you on your point of physics for sure!

      January 31, 2013 at 7:52 pm

  12. A very classy relative of the blob!

    January 31, 2013 at 1:18 am

    • Your comment had me laughing my head off! I love it! Thank you. 😀

      January 31, 2013 at 7:54 pm

  13. These shots are amazingly beautiful!

    February 3, 2013 at 5:02 am

  14. Did you take all these pictures on the same day or are you keep coming back to the pond? Anyhow, I love all your posts of the pond and the frozen bubbles 😉

    February 5, 2013 at 4:18 pm

    • Yvonne, I took all of these over the course of about a week, during the month of December. As you can tell, I took a lot of shots! 😀

      February 10, 2013 at 1:56 am

Comments and Suggestions

