Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

The Frozen Beneath

Little Webb Pond 1

30 responses

  1. OOOOH, pretty.

    January 6, 2013 at 4:13 am

  2. Your sub-icy studies are endlessly fascinating, Melanie. I am starting to worry, though, about the precarious positions you must have to get into in order to get the proximity and the angles that you need. I hope you have a faithful troupe of assistants with block & tackle to extricate you in the event that you venture too far on the thin ice!

    January 6, 2013 at 4:19 am

    • No worries (but thank you, Gary, for your concern 🙂 The pond is frozen enough that I’m not risking anything, and also I’m not in an area here, for this shot, for example, that is in deep water. I wouldn’t venture out if it weren’t safe. It’s just so wonderfully clear that the ice looks thinner than it is!

      January 7, 2013 at 1:55 am

  3. Looks more like a terrestrial baroque beauty isn’t it ?
    If so, how on earth you found this.
    Was that near the edge of the pond ?
    And was it safe to go ?

    January 6, 2013 at 4:54 am

    • This image does have a baroque quality to it; I agree! I’m constantly surprised by the variety and depth of colors that I find in the pond. The ice is crystal clear, and even several meters out it’s still fairly shallow (and safe), and it seems that the freezing pushes things up, so that there are fascinating things just beneath the surface.

      January 7, 2013 at 1:59 am

  4. What an amazing photo! And yes, please be careful!

    January 6, 2013 at 4:54 am

    • Glad you like the photo. And, yes, I’m careful on the ice, for sure! 🙂

      January 7, 2013 at 1:59 am

  5. Stunning – it reminds me of Marc Quinn’s work – not for the look, but how odd the processes of nature can seem.

    January 6, 2013 at 7:53 am

    • Very interesting, Richard! And yes, what is extra wonderful on a pond in Maine in the middle of winter is that one has the luxury of capturing nature frozen, in the midst of those processes. It’s fascinating!

      January 7, 2013 at 2:10 am

  6. Such rich color and detail, yet so beautifully abstract.

    January 6, 2013 at 8:24 am

    • Your words describe exactly what draws me to all the little windows I see through the ice into the pond. 🙂

      January 7, 2013 at 2:12 am

  7. klaasfidom

    Nice, first you think what is this. But you have to look better. Great work!

    January 6, 2013 at 10:57 am

  8. Do be careful!! Extraordinarily frigid beauty……..

    Pam

    January 6, 2013 at 11:40 am

    • Thank you, Pam! I’m certainly careful–no worries! 🙂

      January 7, 2013 at 2:12 am

  9. Nature will lead the curious to some beautiful things!

    January 6, 2013 at 1:22 pm

  10. Your frozen pond shots are superb – unique views of a fascinating place!

    January 6, 2013 at 3:18 pm

    • Thank you so much, Finn. I really appreciate that! I enjoyed your post of the garden birds, by the way. Such lovely photos. Your finches are so different from ours!

      January 7, 2013 at 2:16 am

  11. beautiful surreal photos of your frozen pond. I love it!

    January 6, 2013 at 7:01 pm

  12. elmediat

    A window into a wonderful other world. This is a great series. 🙂

    January 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    • Thanks, Joseph. I’m so glad you’re enjoying it: there is a lot more to come. (I hope my blogging friends aren’t going to get tired of it before I do 🙂 )

      January 7, 2013 at 2:18 am

  13. Treasure!

    January 7, 2013 at 2:44 am

    • The pond holds lots of treasure. When it’s frozen like this and the surface is clear of snow, there are so many wonderful things to see!

      January 8, 2013 at 1:08 am

  14. Marvelous

    January 7, 2013 at 4:36 pm

  15. I think these were the sort of shots I first saw of yours, they were intriguingly beautiful then and now even more so.
    This seems like a frozen cosmos.

    January 7, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    • Thank you, Karen, for your nice words. Ice is one of my favorite subjects, and the pond is one of my favorite places; so somehow it all comes together for me there. What I like about frozen pond bubbles is how individual they are, and the distinct ways they manifest and express themselves.

      January 8, 2013 at 1:27 am

  16. I’m interested to see all the bubbles – do you think it freezes very quickly? When our pond freezes (rare!) it isn’t anything like this…much flatter. Though of course maybe i just need to look CLOSER 🙂 Lovely shot.

    January 9, 2013 at 10:43 am

    • Yes, I think the freeze happens fairly quickly. And it looks as though what was happening is frozen in time. I love it!

      January 9, 2013 at 10:25 pm

Comments and Suggestions

