Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

Suspense

Milkweed

28 responses

  1. wonderfully photographed, Melanie.

    December 7, 2012 at 8:40 pm

  2. Beautifully shot Melanie. I’m not familiar with milkweed, what an exquisite seed head.

    December 7, 2012 at 8:51 pm

    • Thank you, Adrian. Milkweed takes many different forms throughout its life cycle. I find it a fascinating plant, and such a pleasure to photograph.

      December 8, 2012 at 6:48 pm

  3. It’s almost nature’s super natural creation !
    And to discover it, then photographed it in this
    phenomenal way was also incredible too !
    This must be a Buddhist’s Karmic encounter.
    It’s a far beyond of emotional “Beautiful” but
    Philosophical Evidence to make mouth shut.

    December 7, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    • Wow, I am completely humbled by your comment. I felt very fortunate to come upon the milkweed in this particular stage. What a fascinating plant it is! It reveals itself in such unexpected and wonderful ways.

      December 8, 2012 at 6:51 pm

  4. Like a beautiful dancer Melanie. Fantastic

    December 8, 2012 at 12:09 am

    • Thank you so much, Helen. There is a dancing movement about this plant; I can see that. Milkweed, in all its various stages, leaves me with so many different impressions.

      December 8, 2012 at 6:53 pm

  5. Fantastic capture, love the details!

    December 8, 2012 at 12:44 am

  6. That’s great perspective and an excellent macro shot!

    December 8, 2012 at 1:29 pm

    • Thanks! There is always so much I want to get into an image with milkweed (it offers so many great textures), but I’m rarely satisfied with the results. I moved all around this this plant until I landed on this perspective.

      December 8, 2012 at 6:56 pm

  7. Superb macro!

    December 8, 2012 at 2:44 pm

  8. I’ve never seen milkweed before – it looks like some kind of ritual object. Wonderful shot.

    December 8, 2012 at 9:52 pm

    • Milkweed is such a fascinating plant! It almost looks different from one day to the next! It’s really quite stunning the different forms it takes.

      December 11, 2012 at 2:59 am

  9. elmediat

    My first reaction was “Lemony has taken a unique wedding portrait”. 🙂 Beautiful composition.

    December 8, 2012 at 10:55 pm

    • Oh yes me too! Like an expectant bride in all her finery. What’s the latin name for milkweed Lemony, do you know?

      December 9, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      • What a lovely description, Sarah. I think the latin name is: Asclepias syriaca. You’ll be astonished to see how this plant transforms over the course of the season.

        December 11, 2012 at 3:22 am

    • Ha ha! What a fun comment, thank you. And thank you for your recent visit and the many comments you left. I always enjoy your feedback and encouragement. It really means so much to me!

      December 11, 2012 at 3:01 am

  10. No se que planta es, pero es una preciosidad, parece un precioso vestido, ¡maravillosa toma Lemony!!

    December 9, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    • Thank you! I can see what you mean. It does look like a dress. It’s amazing how milkweed can have such a variety of appearances.

      December 11, 2012 at 3:19 am

  11. myfullresearch

    Gorgeous !
    mfr

    December 9, 2012 at 10:12 pm

  12. This is a beautifully composed and executed photograph! One of my favorites from your portfolio!

    December 9, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • You know I almost didn’t post this one!! That’s the third one where I felt the image was a bit too close to me somehow (or, rather, that I was a bit too close to it) and that my own connection to it was affecting my judgment about its quality, and then you offer such a generous comment. Thank you, George!

      December 11, 2012 at 4:09 am

  13. Very pretty…and peculiar…in an interesting way….

    December 10, 2012 at 3:52 am

  14. I thought of a bridal gown too when I first looked at it. It is a lovely photograph!

    December 11, 2012 at 7:23 am

  15. Wow!
    The detail here is really great.

    December 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Comments and Suggestions

