Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

December Dawn

Farmhouse in Fog

27 responses

  1. Reminds me of the old farm administration photos. It has the feel of old analogue film. I like it very much.

    December 5, 2012 at 4:03 am

    • Thank you, George. In the coming months, I’m hoping to experiment a bit with analog photography, actually. I feel like I have a severe gap in my education and understanding about photography, since my experience is limited entirely to digital photography. I need to remedy that. I am also eager to learn how to print my own photographs in a darkroom.

      December 6, 2012 at 2:22 am

  2. I think, this is The Photograph showing your psyche.
    Almost obsessive close gaze and in the same time
    longing to be absorbed into the cosmic void 😉
    Beautiful Photo !

    December 5, 2012 at 4:16 am

    • Another very interesting remark, Yoshi-sensei. I am indeed quite drawn to the darkness in this image; I like to imagine stepping right into it to see where it leads. Thank you for your generous compliment!

      December 6, 2012 at 2:35 am

  3. Lovely image.

    December 5, 2012 at 8:26 am

  4. Very nice. So atmospheric. I do wish I had some fog to photograph. And snow.

    December 5, 2012 at 8:32 am

    • Thanks, Ashely. I can’t wait to get up to Maine at the end of the month. One of my favorite subjects is pond ice. There is lots of fog, there, too, well, and snow. 🙂

      December 6, 2012 at 2:37 am

  5. wonderful image! there is a sense of the mysterious.

    December 5, 2012 at 11:02 am

    • Thank you for your kind words, Virgilio. I’m glad you like the image.

      December 6, 2012 at 2:37 am

  6. A touch of eerie……..love it!

    Pam

    December 5, 2012 at 11:08 am

    • Yes, it does feel a bit eerie, doesn’t it? I’m glad you like it! 🙂

      December 6, 2012 at 2:38 am

  7. myfullresearch

    yoshizen is right !
    The place you shot is (more or less) 500 yards from my home !!! It’s the dwelling of the soul.
    Nice day
    mfr

    December 5, 2012 at 1:02 pm

  8. I like the dark furrow and the dark tree, it makes the perspective really powerful. I don’t know if you followed the comment thread on my last post but you may like http://www.jamesravilious.com/. a bit more documentary but fascinating stuff.

    December 5, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    • Thank you, Sarah. I checked out the link you shared and love what I saw. His photographs are amazing. Is that photograph on his home page the same tree you photographed?! It looks like it must be!!

      December 6, 2012 at 2:44 am

  9. What a great shot. Just the right amount of texture and detail, and a really nice aged feel to it. Love the way it fades.

    December 5, 2012 at 9:11 pm

    • Thank you, Richard. The fog yesterday was exceptionally thick. I’m always so eager to get outside and take advantage of how the fog changes our view of things. It does such wonderful things to the light.

      December 6, 2012 at 2:47 am

  10. I like the gray mood…very nice, Melanie.

    December 6, 2012 at 4:39 am

    • Thank you, Scott. It was a gray kind of day… 🙂

      December 6, 2012 at 1:39 pm

      • You’re welcome, Melanie…like a sweet melancholy….

        December 10, 2012 at 2:57 am

  11. I love mornings like this and often try to get high enough to be above the fog. I haven’t had much luck doing that yet but being in sunshine while looking down upon a misty, foggy valley is a photo worth chasing, I think.

    December 6, 2012 at 11:23 am

    • I agree: that would be a photo worth chasing! I’d love to see that!

      December 6, 2012 at 1:53 pm

  12. elmediat

    Wonderful composition. I recently saw post on “The Lantern Room” that makes an interesting companion to this image. It is called “December Whisper”.
    http://thelanternroom.wordpress.com/2012/12/02/december-whisper/

    December 8, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    • The “December Whisper” post is really wonderful. Thank you for sharing the link!

      December 11, 2012 at 3:07 am

  13. Beautiful!

    December 11, 2012 at 7:21 am

  14. I love the atmosphere that you captured in this shot.
    Excellent.
    Hugs from Colombia.

    December 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Comments and Suggestions

