Flowers—Lines—Ice

Image

Sticks

Bamboo

11 responses

  1. Now, I do like this one lots! I’ve thrown out many of these bamboo plant stakes. They are not good to use anyway because they harbor plant disease and insects, but they look good. 🙂 Apparently, these are bamboo stalks that were actually grown by a gardener since I can see the remains of the sprouts that were cut away from the stalks. A really nice photo!

    December 4, 2012 at 3:19 am

    • They were indeed grown by a gardener. I liked the look of them in this haphazard collection where they’ve been lying for a quite a long time.

      December 4, 2012 at 8:00 pm

  2. Very good composition ! I like the valance, proportion of horizontal and angled bamboo
    together with its positioning of warmer and colder color.

    December 4, 2012 at 3:36 am

    • I was drawn to this little stack of bamboo for the same reasons you cite. The shot was already set up naturally; the sticks had been randomly piled up, no one knowing that I’d come a long. All I had to do was snap the picture! 🙂

      December 4, 2012 at 8:03 pm

  3. Why not?! 😀

    December 4, 2012 at 9:22 am

  4. I’ve always liked the look of bamboo and wish it would grow here. I can imagine what the sound must be like when the wind blows through a bamboo grove.

    December 4, 2012 at 10:51 am

    • I really like the look of bamboo, too. My grandfather had bamboo in his yard in Arkansas, and my siblings and cousins and I all used to play hide and seek in it. It was like a big labyrinth! (I don’t think we were supposed to play in it, actually, but we would sneak in there anyway. 🙂 )

      December 4, 2012 at 8:05 pm

  5. I was wondering at the journey of the bamboo, from whence they came and how they came to be where they are now…they do look well-lived, to me…

    December 6, 2012 at 4:38 am

  6. elmediat

    The use of texture, line and colour work beautifully in this shot. The image has a sense of time & place.

    December 8, 2012 at 11:32 pm

  7. Nice texture and composition.

    December 11, 2012 at 7:20 am

Comments and Suggestions

