Flowers—Lines—Ice

She made it.

I had a few minutes to dash over the few blocks to where my spider friend lives in a clematis vine and snap a quick shot (in what is now just a drizzling rain).  I have to say I continue to be blown away when I realize how clever this spider is.  While much of her web is destroyed, the core funnel of it is fine (even though it’s soaked), as it is nestled down safely beneath a thick bunch of leaves. She has her own umbrella!  You can’t see her in the photograph, which shows the entrance to the funnel in the top left quadrant of the image beneath the leaf, but she’s in there.  I saw her huddled down inside it, all big and leggy, just being her spider self.  Hooray for her! I hope she’ll rebuild.

12 responses

  1. Stunning photograph!
    Love the detail!

    October 30, 2012 at 8:56 pm

  2. Yay!!!

    October 30, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  3. I cannot believe that I was rooting for a SPIDER of all things! I wondered if she’s make it. Glad you found her safe inside. She’ll rebuild. 🙂

    October 30, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    • Isn’t it great! I can’t wait to watch what she’ll do next. 🙂

      October 31, 2012 at 11:26 am

  4. Spiders are pretty resilient and clever beings.

    October 31, 2012 at 11:01 am

  5. No doubt she’ll be fixing up that home of hers now that things have calmed down weather-wise. I’ve read somewhere that much of the web that they weave (perhaps the core/entrance) is a LOT stronger than the outer areas…..I do believe Madame Spider fared better than many humans with Sandy in town!

    Pam

    October 31, 2012 at 11:42 am

  6. Glad she made it – great shot. It looks like a pretty densely woven structure.

    October 31, 2012 at 2:06 pm

  7. Glad for the spider!

    October 31, 2012 at 3:43 pm

  8. Very nice shot Melanie, I like the monochrome. I find it really difficult to do photographic justice to spider webs but you’ve really captured it well here. Do you know what species it is? We have one in the UK which builds similar webs called a ‘labyrinth orb weaver’ (great name for a creature!).

    October 31, 2012 at 4:42 pm

  9. elmediat

    Excellent composition.
    Really looks like a set for an Alien movie or one of those exotic desserts on the Food Channel. You can tell my sleep schedule is doing strange things to my association of images. 🙂

    November 5, 2012 at 4:53 am

  10. Good stuff. and amazing she survived !

    November 11, 2012 at 3:20 pm

Comments and Suggestions

