Flowers—Lines—Ice

The Enchanted Pool

Hi, everyone.  I am actually still alive, despite my lengthy absence.  I am eager to get back to regular posts in the very near future.

This image is from a spring in the woods at my mother’s house in Maine that bubbles year round even in the coldest winter months.  My step-father, Carl, hand-crafted a beautiful sign years ago and posted it on a tree near the spring with the words “Enchanted Pool.”  In the right side of the image below you can see a  (blurred) shape of the bench where one can sit an gaze quietly into the enchanted pool and reflect.

Best wishes to all!

~Lemony

35 responses

  1. It does sound enchanting…and welcome back. 🙂

    September 20, 2012 at 2:08 pm

    • Thank you, Scott. I hope to be back in full force in the near future. 🙂 I hope all is well with you.

      September 21, 2012 at 1:20 am

      • You are very welcome…and I shall look forward to your full-forced return. 🙂

        We are all doing well here, too, Melanie…I hope your time away has been positive and well-spent….

        September 21, 2012 at 2:14 am

  2. We have a spring just like that along a road near my house and a lot of people fill containers with its water.

    September 20, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    • I’ve actually never tried to drink the water from this spring. I’ll ask my parents if they have. I’m curious to try it now!

      September 21, 2012 at 1:27 am

  3. I love the abstractness of this. Beautiful.

    September 20, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • Thank you so much, Maralee. It was an experiment for me, so your comment is very helpful!

      September 21, 2012 at 1:35 am

  4. Oh how lovely…….and the whole idea of “The Enchanted Pool”……gets my story-writing thoughts into gear. LOL

    Pam

    September 20, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • I’m glad you like it, Pam! You would LOVE the woods where my parents live. There are LOTS of enchanted (and enchanting) little beings living there. 😀

      September 21, 2012 at 1:36 am

  5. I’ve seen the woods scape like this, where a conifer woods open to a small lake in the mountain
    where the trail lead to our mountain shelter. —– in fact it is very familiar to me as I spent virtually
    all of my youth there. (all doesn’t mean full time 🙂 = up to 100 days in a year. = how I managed
    to finish High School and Uni’ is a good question 😀 ) —– so that, I still live in it image = I don’t
    know whether it was enchanted or just got stack. 😀

    By the way, I never seen such sharp, blurred photo —– was that digitally sharpened ?

    September 20, 2012 at 3:42 pm

    • So wonderful for you that you had such an opportunity to live in such beautiful surroundings. I did not digitally sharpen the photo, although I did enhance the color a bit (unless you’re talking about the sharpness of the color?) Always so happy to have you visit, thank you.

      September 21, 2012 at 1:39 am

  6. Very nice abstract.

    September 20, 2012 at 4:48 pm

  7. WOW. Lovely, Lemony! Such a clean, velvety image and such color. I really like this one!

    September 20, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    • Thank you, George. Another experiment for me, so your feedback is helpful. I took lots of shots in the woods like this at my parents’ and there are some that I really like, but I didn’t know if they would “work” for anyone but me, mainly because the woods there are special to me. My partner (who is an art historian) is always reminding me that other people who look at my work don’t really care what feelings of my own are infused into the image or how meaningful something might be to me (since they can’t “see” that stuff or even know that it’s there). It either works or it doesn’t. I’m glad this one works. 🙂

      September 21, 2012 at 2:14 am

      • I don’t think this one requires anything in order for it to be meaningful to other people. The shafts of color can be interpreted in endless ways … making it universal. On first glance, I love the clean, soft shafts of colored light. If I look at it longer, it becomes something more. The spacing of the shafts draws the eye into it in a sort of mysterious, open-ended suggestion. Or, depending on one’s perspective, the shafts pierce the water. Endless possibilities, as I said. 🙂 That’s what art is about, isn’t it?

        September 21, 2012 at 2:59 am

  8. Amazing abstract Melanie.
    Magical shot!!

    September 20, 2012 at 6:35 pm

  9. From your description I was expecting a placid pool – instead you give us violent colour. I really like it.

    September 20, 2012 at 6:43 pm

    • Thanks, Richard! What always strikes me about this particular place in the woods is the intensity of light, despite the very thick and tall trees. I’m not quite sure how that happens. But it makes for a wonderful place to sit and ponder by the enchanted pool. 🙂

      September 21, 2012 at 2:23 am

  10. gorgeous, Lemony! An exciting image.

    September 20, 2012 at 7:19 pm

  11. There’s real motion and drama going on there. Great colours, great image!

    Good to have you back in blogworld, I hope your summer was a relaxing one 🙂

    September 20, 2012 at 7:33 pm

    • Hi, Finn. Thank you so much for your kind comment. I’ll look forward to checking in to see what you’ve been up to! 🙂

      September 21, 2012 at 2:51 am

  12. myfullresearch

    Not only rusty stuff, I daresay. You have an enchanting eye about abstract images (I remember your comment on my fractals…). This is great.
    mfr

    September 20, 2012 at 9:51 pm

    • So kind of you, mfr, and wonderful to “see” you. :-)Thank you for stopping in!

      September 21, 2012 at 2:52 am

  13. best wishes

    September 21, 2012 at 4:25 am

    • Thank you, Shimon. I’m always to happy for you to visit.

      September 22, 2012 at 12:17 pm

  14. This is an great piece of art. I love it!
    Best wishes allesistgut 🙂

    September 21, 2012 at 7:24 am

  15. Magnifique

    September 21, 2012 at 8:59 am

  16. Glad to see you posting again Melanie and I love this abstract

    September 21, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    • Thank you, Hellen. It’s nice to be back. I appreciate your encouragement.

      September 22, 2012 at 12:20 pm

  17. Love this image! The colors and lines are intense and peaceful at the same time.

    September 21, 2012 at 7:09 pm

Comments and Suggestions

