Flowers—Lines—Ice

Oil Cans II

24 responses

  1. I remember how my father’s oil cans collected dust in the cellar. Some of those in the photo look much the same as I remember them.

    September 1, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    • This is the same collection I shared a photo of earlier, but from a slightly different angle. I like how the light catches each one in a different way.

      September 1, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  2. Love the grungy look of the oil cans.

    September 1, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  3. I like the processing here. 🙂

    September 1, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    • Thank you, Chillbrook. The low light contributed somewhat to the graininess. 🙂

      September 1, 2012 at 5:52 pm

  4. Very nice, Melanie. 🙂

    September 1, 2012 at 3:53 pm

  5. Oh yes!

    September 1, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • 🙂

      September 1, 2012 at 5:52 pm

      • Melanie, did you see that I’ve nominaed you for the Super Sweet Bloggers Award?? I think I gave it to Lemony Squeezes because I remember that one better!! . Please go to my blog post for Saturday, Sept. 1 to read all about it!!

        September 1, 2012 at 8:48 pm

  6. As usual, you’ve turned the most ordinary of items and turned them into artwork on film.

    Pam

    September 1, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    • Thank you, Pam. There is something fascinating to me about all of the different shapes we give to ordinary things.

      September 1, 2012 at 5:53 pm

  7. This is lovely, really. I like the tones and the light a lot.

    September 1, 2012 at 5:59 pm

    • The tones got me with this one, too… the light was striking the cans just so. The composition is a bit off (the surface was crooked…), but we can’t have it all sometimes. 🙂 Also, there are times when I can’t get near enough to my subjects to satisfy my eye, but then afterwards I realize my own hunger for a close-up has compromised the balance of the shot. …

      September 3, 2012 at 12:40 am

      • Me too. We are detail eyes, aren’t we? The composition looks really good to me, but then I am a closeup freak too! 🙂

        September 3, 2012 at 12:42 am

  8. Very nice use of light and shadow. Nice composition. Overall, very nice!

    September 1, 2012 at 11:52 pm

  9. very nice shot, I love old working gear, reminds me of my former boss who collected and used old stuff 😀

    September 2, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    • Thanks! I can see why people would collect this old stuff: it’s so interesting to look at! The shapes, patina, variety… wonderful!

      September 3, 2012 at 12:57 am

  10. elmediat

    Really like these. The blue tones really give it an alternative process feel that works very effectively with the subject. It resembles Cyanotypes.

    September 21, 2012 at 12:26 am

  11. Nice historic/antique vibe to this.

    October 5, 2012 at 11:34 am

Comments and Suggestions

