Flowers—Lines—Ice

A few of my favorite subjects in one

26 responses

  1. Very yummy.

    August 26, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    • Yummy comes to mind for me, too, but I don’t think most people would find green slimy fungi-ridden pond bubbles all that yummy looking. 😀

      August 27, 2012 at 12:36 am

  2. Strangely beautiful picture though, same time it is a puzzling photo,
    not only the subject but also the mind-set / intention.
    Whether the picture became just nice photo was avoided by
    placing or not removing the white staff right side, or was it a part of the intention ?

    August 27, 2012 at 12:16 am

    • The white stuff was simply there, stuck to the side of the bubble. I was captivated by its contrast to the perfectly rounded, lively shape next to it: its decay and shredded form, so forlorn, seemed very beautiful to me.

      August 27, 2012 at 12:41 am

  3. Excellent shot Melanie,..

    August 27, 2012 at 1:07 am

  4. elmediat

    Beautiful composition. I wasn’t sure exactly what it was. For a moment I that it was a lime & a taco wrap bobbing in bubbling liquid. Perhaps you should have tagged this one under abstract food fusion. 🙂

    August 27, 2012 at 1:34 am

    • Ha ha ha! You nailed it! That’s exactly what it is! 😀 (Just kidding.)

      September 1, 2012 at 1:57 am

  5. It’s beautiful! Such intensity of color!

    August 27, 2012 at 2:14 am

  6. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder (or camera holder)! I think this is most interesting – the fact it’s hard to decide WHAT it is makes it all the more interesting!

    Pam

    August 27, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • Thank you, Pam! Hope Sammy has great plans for a sleepy weekend. 😉

      September 1, 2012 at 1:56 am

  7. myfullresearch

    Beyond the doors of perception…
    Strange subject, perfect result !
    Hi 🙂
    mfr

    August 27, 2012 at 1:48 pm

  8. There are lots of amazing things to be seen in ponds and it’s a shame that more people don’t go and have a look.

    August 27, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    • Exactly! Ponds really have so much to offer. Great treasures!

      September 1, 2012 at 1:54 am

  9. Melanie! I’ve nominated you to participate in a photo contest. Details can be found here: http://denziljennings.wordpress.com/2012/08/27/capture-the-colour-contest/

    August 28, 2012 at 3:08 am

    • Thank you very much, Denzil! I’m really grateful that you thought of me for this!

      September 1, 2012 at 1:35 am

  10. I know that ponds are in your list of favorite subjects; when I started following your work I found some really fascinating shots of ponds.
    Very nice composition and colors Melanie; I’m not really sure what’s in the pond, but I like how it looks like.

    August 29, 2012 at 7:52 am

  11. A lime?
    (very pretty, regardless of what it is!)

    August 29, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    • No, not a lime…. pond scum bubble! 😀

      September 1, 2012 at 1:47 am

      • HAHAHHAA! Now THAT just made me smile! Very telling of how great your work is! You made a pond scum bubble beautiful 🙂

        September 1, 2012 at 2:33 am

  12. Taco and lime. I know it is pond scum, but I really never saw pond scum look so bright and delicious. I like it too … the algae on our water trough for the longhorns is interesting to me. This is a really interesting abstract!

    September 1, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • 🙂 Yes, algae offers such fascinating colors and shapes. Great stuff!

      September 3, 2012 at 12:42 am

  13. You have a fabulous concoction of colours in there. I reckon many an abstract artist would be very pleased to create something as potent as that!

    September 9, 2012 at 9:34 pm

Comments and Suggestions

