Flowers—Lines—Ice

A Little Wasp Family

Okay, everyone:  here’s a quick update on the wasp family I’ve been following.  They’ve more than doubled in number, and we’re finally seeing some progress on the nest.  I am hoping that yoshizen, if he sees this, can fill us in on some of the details of where we are at this stage in the nest (what the bulges are, what the green stuff is that the two wasps in the middle are sharing…etc.). It’s not the best photograph (especially in terms of its composition), but I had to take the shot and take off this time.  The wasp on top of the nest must have been the look-out;  she spotted me right off,  and I didn’t stick around to test our relationship.

20 responses

  1. Queen herself built five~Seven cells nest first then lay eggs —-> they become first generation of daughters.
    Then those daughters further building cells. Queen lays eggs to vacated and new cells —-> .
    It seems their nest having first and second generations, and third generations are under the caps as
    in their pupal state = looks like bulges are the caps to prevent pupae falling off.
    Green staff is a caterpillar of moss kind which they brought back and feed to their larvae. (they chow
    it to small pieces and give to young larvae)
    On top of the photo, center left, half grown larva is visible inside of a cell.
    This is rather rare close up photo of a wasp’s nest. = a result of really brave nature photography 🙂
    Most of the photos, I’ve seen were taken using a tele-photo macro, and the details were not such clear.
    Nice work !

    July 3, 2012 at 3:13 am

    • Wonderful! I knew you would have the facts! Thank you so much for offering these fascinating details; I’m very grateful. I thought I could see a little one inside the cell you’re referring to in the center left top, but thought maybe I was imagining it! I’m so glad you’ve confirmed it’s actually there. Now I want to back again and see if I can get a better shot of that, and perhaps other, half-grown larva(e). Maybe if I smile really big, they’ll smile back at me. 😀 😀

      July 3, 2012 at 6:10 pm

      • It’s a fancy idea to give a big smile though, I’m not sure whether it works or not. 🙂 To my study of Wasp’s nest
        I payed the price of more than 10 stung (still, I received a prize for that, from the educational organization too)

        In that study, I transferred some pupes from one nest to another to see what happens = newly hatched wasps
        were just adopted the nest where they were born as their own, without any conflict = its mean no unique smell
        or genetic memories exists — it surprised the teachers and authorities as it was done by a kids in a junior school)
        😀

        July 3, 2012 at 7:12 pm

        • That’s a great experiment you carried out! Sorry to hear about the stings. I’ve only ever been stung once in my life, and that was by a yellow-jacket when I was 5-years-old. I can only imagine what 10+ stings would feel like! 😯

          July 5, 2012 at 3:22 pm

          • Luckily one at a time = never learn a lesson and kept messing around with them. 🙂
            If I had 10 in the same time I could have killed.
            Receiving a stung when you were 5 years little girl, yet still maintaining guts to close to those wasps
            was remarkable ! = didn’t imprint a subconscious fear ?

            July 5, 2012 at 4:40 pm

  2. This is amazing, Lemony! I don’t think I’d be quite so brave… 🙂 But it paid off! I really do like these wasp photographs.

    July 3, 2012 at 3:52 am

    • I’m not sure if it’s bravery or just determined curiosity. 🙂 I simply can’t help myself (this seems to be a gene on both sides of my family, so my siblings and I got a big dose of it. 🙂

      July 5, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  3. This is a fabulous picture Melony. Great that yoshizen is able to fill us in on the progress. Having been stung far too many times than I’d care to mention, I’m not a fan of wasps. Bees sting but only if provocated and it’s a suicide mission for them and anyway, bees give us honey and do a fabulous job fertilizing flowers. Wasps sting for the hell of it and don’t on the face of it, appear to do anything useful. That said, this is a fascinating insight. Thanks for posting!

    July 3, 2012 at 8:37 am

    • Hi, Chillbrook. Thank you for your comment. I’m really grateful to yoshizen, too, for all of the great information he offers. Sorry to hear you’ve been stung so many times–that’s terrible. I’ve only been stung once in my life, and that was by a yellow-jacket when I was about 5 years old (I remember it well).

      July 5, 2012 at 2:05 pm

  4. Fascinating! And Yoshizen’s explanation is as fascinating as the photos! Great job – everyone…..

    Pam

    July 3, 2012 at 11:00 am

  5. Excellent photo and interesting commentary!

    July 3, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Thank you, Allen. I’m lucky to have a blogger-friend like yoshizen to chime in with good information about the subjects of my photographs. 🙂

      July 5, 2012 at 3:08 pm

  6. Amazing photo Melanie.
    Great detail!

    July 3, 2012 at 2:30 pm

  7. Very brave of you to get so close to the wasps. Fantastic details!

    July 3, 2012 at 4:25 pm

  8. Fascinating – you are brave!

    July 3, 2012 at 4:57 pm

  9. wow!!!!!!!!!!!

    July 4, 2012 at 3:17 pm

  10. Arrghhhhhhh *runs away* lol

    July 5, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  11. Your photos are simply amazing! Such detail with such tiny insects.

    July 7, 2012 at 5:54 pm

  12. Great shot, text and comments. A nice insight into the lives of one of our much maligned neighbours.

    July 8, 2012 at 12:50 pm

  13. Great shot. You’re very brave!

    July 9, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Comments and Suggestions

