Flowers—Lines—Ice

Resplendent Dessication

33 responses

  1. Magnificent shot! Beautiful! =)

    June 1, 2012 at 9:34 am

  2. Dead or live, nature always fascinates us —– because it’s beyond our imagination
    despite we supposed to have largest brain in this planet.
    It’s mean, largest is still not enough.
    Better just being fascinated = beautiful shot.

    June 1, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Thank you, yoshizen, for this comment. My imagination is certainly stirred by life and death. By the way, I did go back to that flower that we weren’t sure was a flower. You may be interested to see what I discovered (or maybe not 🙂 ) I have so many photos go upload and go through, but I’ll eventually get to it!

      June 1, 2012 at 11:57 pm

      • Yes I’m still very interested in though, Kew Garden stopped to receive inquiry from the public. It’s mean
        I have to use the channel through Makino Herbarium
        though, I had to write them instead to use an Email
        as the people I knew, no longer work there. (It was
        40 years ago. 😀 Hence taking a bit longer time)

        June 2, 2012 at 1:25 am

  3. I’ve always thought that every moment of a flower’s life has interest. This proves it true.

    June 1, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    • I couldn’t agree more about the entire life (and death) of a flower holding interest. Thank you so much for your nice words about my photograph.

      June 1, 2012 at 11:54 pm

  4. It IS splendid and the title is, too.

    June 1, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  5. Gorgeous shot!

    June 1, 2012 at 1:05 pm

  6. This makes me think of sumptuous clothing in a costume drama about aristocrats going to seed. Stunning image!

    June 1, 2012 at 1:08 pm

    • Wow, you and I are on exactly the same page with this image (in terms of how we see it). I’m completely psyched about that. Thank you for your kind words. I’m very encouraged! I keep seeing your Prince images and want to get over there and spend time (and cast my vote 🙂 I haven’t had a chance to read the article yet either, but hope to this weekend. I’m looking forward to it.

      June 1, 2012 at 11:52 pm

  7. Tout est si beau quand on se donne la peine de regarder. Toute la différence est dans le regard.
    Jolie photo.

    June 1, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    • Je suis tout à fait d’accord en ce qui concerne le regard. Et c’est grâce aux belles images telles que celles que tu crées et dont tu écris que j’arrive à former et développer mon regard. 🙂

      June 2, 2012 at 12:06 am

  8. Stunning image Melanie.

    June 1, 2012 at 2:21 pm

  9. Gorgeous subtle colour and composition. Yes, resplendent.

    June 1, 2012 at 2:53 pm

  10. Gorgeous!

    June 1, 2012 at 6:38 pm

  11. This has a sort of fading decadence about it that I love..

    June 1, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    • That’s exactly what drew me to me this flower, Helen, was the decadence it seemed to embody. I’m so glad that it comes through in my photograph.

      June 2, 2012 at 12:10 am

  12. This is a exquisite photo Melanie.
    Love the tones and the composition.
    Great details.
    Have a great weekend!

    June 2, 2012 at 12:21 am

  13. another artistic photograph… Loved it. Than k you dear Melanie, have a nice weekend, love, nia

    June 2, 2012 at 12:23 am

  14. Sad and beautiful. This image is as poetic as the title you have given it.

    June 2, 2012 at 6:51 pm

  15. amazing! 🙂

    June 2, 2012 at 8:11 pm

  16. elmediat

    Beautiful. Something about the combination of title and image suggests to me Tennessee Williams’ “Glass Menagerie” . ( Unexpected verse.) .

    June 3, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  17. I am reminded of faded satin gowns and draperies in some neglected but still-elegant parlor in someone’s beloved mansion. It’s late afternoon and the weak sun slants in at a very low angle. There are dust motes in the air. I can almost hear the music to which they danced . . .

    June 3, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  18. I love this photo. It’s more than just beautiful. It feels like I know it…like it is reminding me of something very long forgotten, but I just can’t quite remember what it is. So familiar and yet…

    June 23, 2012 at 12:11 pm

Comments and Suggestions

