Flowers—Lines—Ice

A Young Wasp Queen Building Her Nest

2

3

62 responses

  1. A few minutes ago i also photographed some wasps…yours are very beautiful!

    May 23, 2012 at 10:47 am

    • I’ll look forward to seeing yours! Thank you for your kind words about mine.

      May 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

  2. Just incredible shots… amazing job.

    May 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Thank you very much. She picked an interesting spot for her nest. I’m going to go back and check her progress. We’ve had tons of rain here, so I think it’s slowing her down.

      May 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

  3. Cool pictures. I especially like the first one. ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

    • Thank you. The location for her nest is very interesting. I’m worried about how safe she’ll be there (it’s not very isolated), but I guess she knows what she’s doing.

      May 23, 2012 at 11:00 am

  4. Very nice. It’s really well taken..

    May 23, 2012 at 10:59 am

    • She’s a fascinating little being. I’m glad I had an opportunity to observe her. Thank you for your comment, cocomino.

      May 23, 2012 at 11:22 am

    • Thank you, Cocomino.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  5. You’re brave to get that close….me…not so much. Terrific shots.

    May 23, 2012 at 11:43 am

    • Edith, she seemed so busy with her work that she didn’t even notice me. I’ve been back several times now (her progress is very, very slow…) and each time, she hasn’t paid me the least bit of attention. Thanks for your nice words about the photos.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:28 pm

  6. Excellent.

    May 23, 2012 at 11:53 am

  7. Fantastic detail.

    May 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm

    • Thank you. When I get caught up on things, one of the first places I’m going to visit is your blog. I’m eager to see where you’ve been lately.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  8. Impressive and frigthening somehow.

    May 23, 2012 at 12:53 pm

    • I’m very impressed with her focus on her work. She’s been at it for DAYS and DAYS and the progress is very slow. I didn’t realize, until I spotted her, that the queen builds the nest all by herself.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

  9. Beautiful, as always!

    May 23, 2012 at 1:31 pm

  10. Fantastic!

    May 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

  11. These are fantastic. Great close-ups. So much detail.

    May 23, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    • Thank you, TSC. I’ve gone back to follow her progress (which has been surprisingly slow). I’ll probably post more images in the future.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

  12. Wonderful pictures: details are just perfect! Incredible job!

    May 23, 2012 at 3:03 pm

  13. That is amazing…wow. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a bee that close!

    May 23, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    • Fortunately, she doesn’t seem to notice that I’m spying on her. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ve gone back several times now, and she’s content just to go about her work and let me observe her as much as I want.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:34 pm

  14. settleandchase

    Amazing shots!

    May 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  15. ยกmuy buenas tomas! yo nunca harรญa fotos tan cerca de estos animalitos, saludos

    May 23, 2012 at 7:16 pm

  16. Gorgeous Melanie.. may I ask what camera and lens you are using for these?

    May 23, 2012 at 8:14 pm

    • Thank you, Helen. I’m always using a Panasonic Lumix-LX5–for all of my shots. I’m completely crazy about the Lumix. I consider myself still a beginner, and did a lot of research before choosing the right camera for my purposes. I have a lot to learn and need to train my eye before moving up to a a DSLR. The Lumix has been perfect for that. I really love it.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:37 pm

  17. Dear Melanie, this is great, I can’t find the exact words actually… every time you fascinating me more… So artistic also… Thank you dear, love, nia

    May 23, 2012 at 11:23 pm

    • Nia, I’m so moved by your comment. Your words mean a great deal to me–you have no idea. Thank you very, very much for this encouragement.

      May 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm

      • You are welcome dear Melanie, you are so nice. Have a nice weekend, Love you, nia

        May 25, 2012 at 2:01 pm

  18. Magnifiques photos !

    May 24, 2012 at 9:51 am

    • Merci! J’ai hรขte de voir ce que tu fais ces jours-ci. (Malheureusement, j’ai pris du retard dans mes visites) ร€ bientรดt!

      May 25, 2012 at 1:43 pm

  19. I agree with Nia. How to explain the wonder of your eye? Such perfection, Lemony! I got my Lumix yesterday. The book on using it is bigger and heavier than the camera! I bought a bunch of stuff with it that is all probably the wrong size. I was shocked at its size. When I looked at the display, I was amazed at the clarity. I have to read the book to figure it all out. I haven’t produced a photograph yet. ๐Ÿ™‚ Your work just astounds me. And all done with the Lumix. You should submit some of these to Panasonic. Would be great advertising for the Lumix.

    May 24, 2012 at 7:24 pm

    • Thank you, George. Your words mean very much to me. I’m so happy you received your Lumix! Isn’t it an amazing little camera?! I was going to recommend a book to go with it; perhaps you already go the one I was going to suggest. Good luck trying it out, and mainly HAVE FUN!!

      May 25, 2012 at 1:46 pm

      • My immediate reaction to the Lumix is astonishment at the way it handles white balance. No yellow photos! That in itself recommends it. I got Alexander White’s book, Photographer’s Guide To The Panasonic Lumix LX5. Thanks, Lemony! ๐Ÿ™‚

        May 25, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  20. Superb series of shots there Melanie. It’s unbelievable what insects can do.

    May 24, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • Thank you, Finn. I’ve been fascinated with this wasp. What I’ve been surprised to learn is that she is building this nest all by herself, and her progress is painstakingly slow. It’s been over a week and a half, and each time I go by, there she is, working away, and the nest hardly looks much bigger than it was last time I checked. I certainly respect her work and hope she’s chosen a safe location. How terrible if it should be knocked down (after all that hard work)!

      May 25, 2012 at 1:49 pm

      • That would indeed be a tragedy, it’s a masterpiece of design and engineering. The symmetry of each hexagonal compartment looks nigh on perfect.

        I don’t understand the irrational fear of wasps, they can be irritating and a sting is painful but fleeting and they only sting when we try and squash them – which seems like a perfectly reasonable response to me!

        May 25, 2012 at 7:37 pm

  21. SUCH amazing photos, even though wasps are not my favorite insects. ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 25, 2012 at 8:13 am

    • Thank you so much. I have a new respect for wasps, now that I see how hard this one is working, day in and day out (well, and it’s almost week in and week out…) all by herself, to build this nest. It’s going to take her a long, long time to finish (if it doesn’t get knocked down in the meantime). She’ll deserve a good rest inside it once it’s all over. ๐Ÿ™‚

      May 25, 2012 at 1:52 pm

  22. wow macros!

    May 26, 2012 at 9:51 am

  23. elmediat

    Excellent sequence. Reminds me of National Geographic and Science Fiction movies from the 60’s. That says more about me than the photos I suppose. ๐Ÿ˜€ Great post.

    May 27, 2012 at 2:41 am

  24. oh wow, is this ever amazing.
    i am actually not a fan of wasps, however these are fascinating.
    looking at them from the safety of my laptop, there is no danger of being stung, LOL.
    thanks for sharing these brilliant captures! ๐Ÿ™‚

    May 28, 2012 at 2:14 am

  25. Amazing detail!
    I tried to do something like this a couple of days ago, and I was quite scared for being that close to the animal, but at the end I got some nice photos, but they are not as nice as yours.
    The detail is amazing Melanie, I’m loving your work more than ever!

    May 28, 2012 at 5:06 am

  26. Wow, just fascinating – your photos and the process you’ve documented!

    May 29, 2012 at 12:01 am

    • I’ve been checking up on this wasp, growing more fond of her, actually. She is working day in and day out, and her progress is sooooo slow. I’ll post an update soon! Thanks so much for your visit!

      May 29, 2012 at 1:04 pm

  27. Fantastic shots…glad she was intent on her nest and not you ๐Ÿ˜‰

    May 31, 2012 at 7:41 am

  28. Nice!

    June 1, 2012 at 2:48 am

  29. Impressive! ๐Ÿ™‚

    June 2, 2012 at 7:03 pm

  30. Pingback: Three Brand New Baby Girls « Lemony Shots

  31. Fantastic shots – great detail and sharpness

    June 9, 2012 at 12:58 pm

  32. Wow, those are really great…and close…shots! I stay further away from them. May I ask what camera/lens you use?

    June 21, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    • Hi, thank you so much for your comment. I use a Panasonic Lumix LX 5 for all of my photographs. It’s a great little camera!

      June 23, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Comments and Suggestions

