Flowers—Lines—Ice

Vision

38 responses

  1. Oh, that’s wonderful!

    May 2, 2012 at 1:23 am

  2. siddharthajoshi

    This is excellent!

    May 2, 2012 at 1:54 am

  3. Wow, that’s whimsical! Love it!
    anne

    May 2, 2012 at 1:56 am

  4. George Weaver

    I see so much here. The cherubic baby’s face in the upper right area. Below that, a duck’s head and neck. The body below the duck is a hoary-faced old man. There are cliffs of water. This is very interesting. What are you saying here?

    May 2, 2012 at 2:38 am

    • George, thank you, thank you. You DO see what I see. I am more asking here than saying, although this is also a bit of answer, too, to a question my daughter asked me about my eyesight. She is quite fascinated with the fact that I wear contact lenses (and does not like it at all when I wear glasses). She asks me all the time lately why I need them and what things look like to me when I don’t wear them. This topic is further complicated by another issue that comes into play for me with my vision, or rather my perception, I should say. I have suffered from chronic migraines for decades, which have a very interesting effect on perception, and in my case interfere with my depth perception, in particular. I was just talking about this again with my neurologist yesterday because the preventative medication I take for the migraines (which seems to be working less and less) effects my spoken language of English (my mother tongue, but not my other languages, since they are stored in a different part of my brain). Over the last few years, I have felt that my brain is somehow compensating and changing how it operates. My perception is still affected by the migraines, but the way I see and think is different. It’s hard to explain, but I sense a very real change has happened (or is happening), as though my brain has been struggling and is rewiring itself in some way. When I took the photograph above, I was trying to capture the way I see, and how I’m perceiving light and shadow (how I try to create depth), and you and I see many of the same images in those shadows (while most people concentrated on the carp). And I think with this image, I’m not only giving a sense of the condition of my own faculty of being able to see (to help Lillia understand what seeing with my eyes is like), but it’s also about vision in the sense of imaginative sight.

      By the way, the jpg is titled Do you see what I see, and everyone assumed I was talking about me, but it also could have been the carp asking the question. šŸ˜‰

      May 3, 2012 at 1:30 am

      • elmediat

        The background on your perception puts this intriguing image into context, as well as your interest in photography. I have functioned with vision in only one eye from birth. My brain has had to process & negotiate depth/distance differently. Those of us with perception issues are often drawn to photography and related media.
        My wife’s migraines receded when she stopped taking pain killers. She then developed other nerve related pain in her feet & legs.
        I won’t mention what I see in the photo. šŸ˜€
        BTW If I had posted this image George would have commented on the fish eyes and made an H P Lovecraft reference. šŸ™‚

        May 5, 2012 at 6:45 pm

        • Thank you so much, Joseph, for your reply here, and for your feedback yesterday on several images. I’m always so grateful for your comments. (I replied to them all, but knowing there is the limit of 9 in the notification box, you may not get word of them all). Thank you, too, for sharing a bit about your own visual/perceptual position. I think, as you say, those of us with perception issues, not only are drawn to photography and related media, but also have an interesting perspective to offer.

          I am sorry to hear about your wife’s situation with her nerve pain.

          I see other images in this photo that I haven’t mentioned, too. šŸ˜€

          I love George’s Lovecraft references. šŸ˜†

          May 6, 2012 at 4:43 pm

      • George Weaver

        Joseph! They ARE sinister eyes. How did I miss that? Yes, I would have seen the eyeballs first off on one of yours! šŸ˜‰ Don’t tell me Lemony is going to let loose stalking eyeballs too. That’s just too much! Lemony, don’t ever ask Joseph what he sees. You don’t want to know, trust me…

        May 6, 2012 at 1:58 am

      • George Weaver

        What do you mean you “think differently”? I don’t like the idea that any medication affects your speech. Do you mean affects it as in aphasia? My daughter had episodes of classic aphasia, blindness, etc., when her migraine headaches were at their worst. My mother had vision disturbances all of her life. She clearly saw large triangular shaped bark on a tree that was several hundred feet from her window, etc. Mother’s grandfather tied a band around his head as tightly as he could to try to stop the migraine pain.
        I see the other dimension suggestions here too. Of course, the layers of this photo are what make it compelling.

        May 6, 2012 at 2:13 am

        • Well, it’s hard to describe exactly, but at first (several years ago) when I began taking this medication (which is actually medication that is usually prescribed for epilepsy), I found that I could see words in my mind and almost felt a need to type them with my fingers before I could say them. It’s was as though I was translating myself all the time. It was a terrible feeling, and certainly enough to stop the medication (especially with my profession). However, in the beginning I had such a reduction in the number of migraines I was experiencing (I had them so frequently at that point, every two to three days (or sometimes for several days in a row), that the relief was so significant that I had to seriously consider if the side-effects were worth it, and hope that I might, with time, adjust to the medication. I decided to stick it out. Then the visual representation of words began to fade from my mind and speech became even more difficult. Others said they didn’t notice it, but I think they were just being kind. I felt I had lost all fluidity to my speech (and still feel that way, and still people say they don’t notice it). But I grasp desperately for words. Orally, that is. Not when I write. When I type, it’s no problem: the words come effortlessly. My neurologist says this is all normal (and has to do both with the medication, AND with the migraines). I asked her the other day if the brain suffers trauma over so many years of migraines, and she said that yes, the brains of some chronic migraine sufferers appear as though they’ve had several mini-strokes.

          Anyway, over time, I felt a shift in my thinking. I became less verbally grounded in my conception of things (which is ironic, given that I specialize in languages), and came to understand things in a more spatial and visual way. Strangely, I even began to “see” music I was hearing (I know that sounds completely weird). I can reason in this spatial, visual way, without having to verbalize or organize sequentially. It makes for a much freer and more satisfying process because there isn’t always an end point. So, while it was disconcerting and upsetting in the beginning, I’m starting to find some footing, and I think my brain may be adjusting now.

          I find what you’ve said about your family members so interesting. Your mother’s visual disturbances are fascinating. I’ve been known to tie a sock around my head to try to stop the pain myself. šŸ™‚

          May 6, 2012 at 3:17 am

          • George Weaver

            I understand enough about aphasia to know what you are talking about. You certainly don’t have a problem typing words. You are exceptionally articulate. I can imagine the brain changes you describe. Actually, the changes are not harmful or disabling. They might, in fact, contribute to your creativity.
            Do you teach? Somehow, I missed knowing what you do.

            May 6, 2012 at 3:40 am

          • I think they have in fact opened some avenues of creativity in my mind. I have always been creative, but in a more verbal way. Now that there are obstacles on that front, rather than shutting down, my brain has worked around them. I have almost been able to FEEL the process happening (or, rather, I have been conscious of it) over the last several years. I wish I had been documenting the transformation because it may have been useful to somebody.

            I do teach. I am a professor of French language, literature, and culture and I am also a literary scholar and translator. My first area of expertise was 16th century poetry, although now I am devoted to a very large project that has taken me out of the Renaissance and into the early twentieth century.

            Fortunately, the problems with the language seem to occur primarily with my native tongue, and don’t have too much of an impact on the language I teach, and I teach in French, so I’m fairly safe there. Although I do have a culture class I’m teaching this semester that is in English (and is open to students who are not studying the French language), and I have joked with my students in that class, who are aware of my situation, because I’m fairly open about it (simply because I don’t know of any other way to be). There have been times when I use descriptors, gestures, and emphasis to get my point across, and the students then draw out my meaning, like a game of charades. It’s actually pretty funny. We’re in sync enough that they understand me perfectly well and can anticipate the words I’m missing and just fill in for me. It’s pretty handy actually having people who know what you mean before you say it. šŸ™‚ There are students in that class who do speak French, so often I just say the words in French, and they translate (so in a way, it’s great practice for them!) It all works out, but it has been incredibly frustrating (and can sometimes embarrassing, too, when people are NOT aware of the situation).

            A long answer to a simple question. šŸ™‚

            May 6, 2012 at 5:08 pm

  5. I see a fish. How did you do this? Really cool!

    May 2, 2012 at 4:51 am

    • Carissa, I basically just took the shot, and played with the tones, temp, shadows, and light in Lightroom. Glad you like it!

      May 3, 2012 at 11:47 pm

  6. An original carp vision.
    I love this fish.

    May 2, 2012 at 5:23 am

  7. magnifique!

    May 2, 2012 at 6:20 am

  8. Very painterly Melanie.. I like it a lot..

    May 2, 2012 at 6:38 am

  9. Me, I see an abstracted fish! Nonetheless, I like the abstract nature of the pic and the green tones. Good!

    May 2, 2012 at 8:44 am

  10. Oh I really like this a lot…….I do see the fish but the photo effect of the wavy bits really sets the whole thing in motion in the water….wonderfully artistic!

    Pam (and Sam)

    May 2, 2012 at 11:06 am

  11. Wonderful abstract.

    May 2, 2012 at 12:43 pm

  12. like a fish from another dimension. spooky, i like it a lot šŸ™‚

    May 2, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    • Thank you very much! I love this comment. This other dimension was exactly part of my vision. šŸ™‚

      May 3, 2012 at 11:51 pm

  13. magnificent! I love it. congrats

    May 2, 2012 at 2:23 pm

  14. Woah….spooky face fishy

    May 3, 2012 at 7:31 pm

  15. A quite psychedelic shot. With a lot of space for imagination. Absolutly amazing.

    May 4, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • I love this comment, thank you! Space for imagination is exactly what I LOVE to hear! By the way, I was just peeking around your own blog and can’t wait to explore more when I have more time! You have some fantastic work!

      May 5, 2012 at 1:25 am

  16. This is a great photo Melanie, so different to all the pictures I’ve seen from you.
    I like it, I like the abstract effect that you achieved here.

    May 6, 2012 at 6:40 am

  17. Freaky image. I like it.

    May 8, 2012 at 12:45 pm

  18. Beautiful, mysterious image. The thought-provoking thread of comments about vision, perception, language and the brain is fascinating. Thanks for sharing so much of your personal experience.

    June 2, 2012 at 7:39 pm

Comments and Suggestions

