Flowers—Lines—Ice

Orange Poppy with a Purple Eye (Infrared)

35 responses

  1. I love how you’ve shot and processed this. Great work.

    April 27, 2012 at 11:37 am

  2. Love the processing.

    April 27, 2012 at 12:54 pm

  3. Beautiful and love the editing

    April 27, 2012 at 3:31 pm

    • Thank you very much, Yvonne. I’m very glad to have your feedback.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:08 am

  4. lovely!

    April 27, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  5. Dad

    IR–Now you’re really going pro. Good one.

    April 27, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  6. Looks like a delicate drawing, wonderful Lemony!

    April 27, 2012 at 11:56 pm

    • Thank you very much, Karen. I’m so pleased that you see it that way.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:09 am

  7. This is really fascinating! It reminds me of nothing so much as a delicate jellyfish.

    April 28, 2012 at 3:56 am

    • I love that! A jellyfish! Thank you, Gary. Your perspective is always helpful.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:13 am

  8. elmediat

    Very intriguing & effective composition. Well done !

    April 28, 2012 at 4:29 am

    • Thank you very much, Joseph! I really appreciate your feedback.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:14 am

  9. Did you have to modify your camera to do IR work? The result is superb – a very different take on a poppy. Good skills!

    April 28, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • The IR was a treatment I applied through post-processing in Lightroom. I’m so pleased to know you like the result. Thank you.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:22 am

  10. That’s lovely – delicate and like a drawing.

    April 28, 2012 at 12:06 pm

  11. George Weaver

    I kept this open since yesterday. I am still studying it. I can’t put my finger on why this photograph is extraordinary, but it is. The infrared treatment is the key to it’s effect I think, but I’d have never thought to use it. This is one of your best photographs.

    April 28, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    • I can’t tell you how much it means to me, George, that you give such close attention to my photographs. There was just something about this poppy, so beautiful in color (I have many images of this same flower in color, as you can imagine) that just told me to strip it back, that there was something I wasn’t seeing because of the color. And even just going to black and white, high contrast, low contrast and all of the different variations wouldn’t let me see what I was trying to see. The infrared essentially got everything blocking my view out of the way and brought what I wanted to see into my line of sight instantly.

      April 29, 2012 at 1:37 am

      • George Weaver

        It isn’t very often that infared works, but when it does, it works like nothing else. I am impressed that you kept trying different processing. That’s the only way to get there with photographs that “speak” to you. It’s amazing how different even fuzzy photos look with some effects. This one is absolutely mesmerizing. One of those nobody forgets! That makes me happy.

        April 29, 2012 at 1:49 am

  12. Nice, very nice….love playing with IR processing….did you do it in Photoshop??

    April 29, 2012 at 9:12 am

    • Hey, Steve. I’m falling a bit behind this week. Sorry for the late reply. I did the IR processing in Lightroom. Thanks so much, as always, for your comments. I really appreciate your feedback.

      May 2, 2012 at 1:25 am

  13. Wonderful image… Thank you dear Melanie, with my love, nia

    April 29, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  14. I’m with Karen on this one…strikes me as a very delicate drawing…so beautiful. 🙂

    April 30, 2012 at 12:32 am

    • Hi, Scott. I’m a bit late replying (it’s a crazy sort of week) but wanted to thank you for your kind words about this photograph. I really appreciate your feedback.

      May 2, 2012 at 2:07 am

      • You’re very welcome, Melanie, it’s beautiful…and I have your crazy week with you out here, as well. 🙂

        May 2, 2012 at 2:33 am

  15. penbow

    This is a cool flower explosion!, the B&W makes the photo abstract and interesting.

    May 4, 2012 at 7:23 am

    • Thanks so much, penbow. I appreciate the visit and your feedback! I tried to link back to your blog, but I can’t seem to get there via your gravatar I’d love to check out your blog.

      May 5, 2012 at 1:01 am

      • penbow

        My gravatar links has been fixed now : )

        May 5, 2012 at 1:39 pm

Comments and Suggestions

