Flowers—Lines—Ice

Damn! Where Are My Snake Boots When I Need Them?! (Part Three)

You’d think the vines from those windows yesterday could have reached out and yanked me right in.  I think they did in a way.  I can’t seem to pull myself away from this place!

Here are a few images of the outside and inside of what I suppose was the main barn.  I can only imagine that a storm must have done the damage we see here.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

And again in color (except for #4 because it just doesn’t work in color), for comparison:

(1)

(2)

(3)

25 responses

  1. No “shrinking vine” that! Until the vines die….the skeletons of the buildings will stay. No doubt the vines are keeping things somewhat in place while at the same time pulling the ruin down around their roots. Interesting forces of nature at work!

    Pam (and Sam)

    April 22, 2012 at 10:56 am

    • Exactly. You’ve pinpointed one of the things I find so fascinating about this scene. The vines are propping up at the same time they’re pulling down. It’s a strange phenomenon. As always, Pam, thank you for your visit!

      April 22, 2012 at 11:42 pm

  2. oh… what is it about these old abandoned barns? great shots

    April 22, 2012 at 11:10 am

  3. I’m really enjoying this series! 🙂

    April 22, 2012 at 3:04 pm

  4. I adore #4 in both

    April 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

  5. I meant, #3

    April 22, 2012 at 3:41 pm

  6. SO much better in black and white. I can see what you mean now by how unstable the structures are.

    April 22, 2012 at 3:57 pm

  7. Love seeing this old abandoned building. The black and white adds a nostalgic feeling.

    April 22, 2012 at 6:29 pm

  8. Such compelling shots!

    April 22, 2012 at 7:36 pm

  9. Should I ask if your introverted self managed to talk with someone about being on their property…or have you been just walking around something that’s been “abandoned” and now belongs to everyone? 🙂

    I love your work, Melanie…so very nice.

    April 22, 2012 at 9:35 pm

    • In this case my introverted self was delighted to discover that no one was around. 🙂 There is a no trespassing sign, but I can’t imagine the owners have been around in a while. The thing about trespassing is that I have been caught several times, and this forces me out of myself, and I’ve had some really great exchanges with people that way. A sort of survival sociability kicks in 😉

      Thank you for your nice compliment! You’re really very kind to say that.

      April 23, 2012 at 12:08 am

      • I’m very happy that all went well with your trespassing and that nobody came out of a hole somewhere to surprise you.

        “Survival sociability….” I like that. 🙂

        And you are very welcome, Miss Melanie…I do love your work and am so happy that we discovered each other, somehow, whenever it was. It’s always a pleasure to visit with you 🙂

        April 23, 2012 at 12:50 am

  10. I love the first photo in color, the color is so beautiful in that one.
    Love all the amazing things that you find in your adventures 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 3:02 am

  11. George Weaver

    I agree with Pablo. It is better in color. Actually, I like all of the color ones. You were not alone, you know. Did you fail to see the figure in the straw hat shadow in #3. Lance doesn’t realize why he likes it. That’s why…. Watch out, child. There are some things worse than snakes. 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 3:41 am

  12. I liked pictures 3 & 4. Interesting.

    April 23, 2012 at 5:57 am

  13. Yas

    I really like the first two photos in black and white. 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  14. elmediat

    Colour adds a different set of emotions and information to the images. The B&W shots emphasize the chaotic force that overwhelmed the man made construction. That force is ambiguous and undefined. When the colour is added, the green , especially in the first image, emphasizes Nature over-powering the artificial & temporary works of “civilization”.

    George is always seeing things in photos – it is the H.P. Lovecraft & Robert E. Howard influence. Surprised she did not mention the eye (knothole) in the board centre right above the diagonal board. 🙂

    April 23, 2012 at 3:25 pm

  15. Hmmm I usually prefer the B&W versions of these types of images…but the colour ones give the place a different , more welcoming, feel.

    April 23, 2012 at 9:02 pm

  16. you know this is right in my wheelhouse! I am sending this link to a fellow blogger that you should meet!

    April 24, 2012 at 6:20 pm

  17. Wish I had been there with you. I love stuff like that!

    April 25, 2012 at 6:53 pm

Comments and Suggestions

