Flowers—Lines—Ice

Damn! Where are my snake boots when I need them?! (Part One)

I came to a screeching stop when I caught a hint of this dilapidated gem off the road yesterday. I was in no way dressed for the adventure, but couldn’t pass up the chance to take some shots, which I’ll be posting over the next few days. Β Although it might not be clear from the images, there are three structures on this site–a large barn, Β a smaller building (a house, perhaps?) and a tiny shed, all clustered together. Β Fabulous vines and trees have taken over the property, devouring the buildings bit by bit, kindly sharing the premises with a small clan of ferrel cats.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

(5)

(6)

(7)

(8)

38 responses

  1. Smashing pictures. πŸ™‚

    April 20, 2012 at 10:57 am

  2. Mother Nature reclaiming her own……I like the “ashes to ashes” sort of feeling you get when buildings begin to disintegrate with disuse. Part One huh? The mention of snake boots has us – well – wondering what Part Two will hold….eeeek!!

    Pam (and Sam)

    April 20, 2012 at 11:07 am

    • This place is really amazing. I can’t get over the size of the vines (the thickness, I mean). You’ll see in my post tomorrow how they are threading themselves in through windows, almost suffocating these structures. In real life, it almost looked otherworldly. No actual snakes this time (that I know of), but because I didn’t have my boots, there were certain areas where the grass and vines were so tall and thick (and all-consuming), that I didn’t dare try to make my way through. In addition to snakes, I worry about spiders, too…. (after fellow-blogger George got me all worried about that).

      April 21, 2012 at 1:57 am

  3. Thanks Lemony, great photos! You are showing how nature can recapture civilization. But most of the time it is the other way around. Snake boots, you mean it could have been snakes there? How frightening!!!! 😦

    April 20, 2012 at 11:12 am

    • Thank you, Bente. I’m glad you’re enjoying the photos. More on the way! πŸ™‚ It’s fascinating how nature takes over when we’re not paying attention, and at this particular site, nature is definitely winning. Some of what I saw blew me away. And, yes, there could have potentially been snakes or other small creatures (including spiders) deeply hidden in the grasses (which were very tall) right up into the inside of this place in some areas, as well as in the very thick vines. The boots just protect from certain risks. Fellow-blogger George Weaver was the one who encouraged me to get them, and I took her advice. I’ve been glad to have them on my adventures.

      April 21, 2012 at 2:02 am

      • In the end, nature always wins.

        Ozymandias

        I met a traveller from an antique land
        Who said: `Two vast and trunkless legs of stone
        Stand in the desert. Near them, on the sand,
        Half sunk, a shattered visage lies, whose frown,
        And wrinkled lip, and sneer of cold command,
        Tell that its sculptor well those passions read
        Which yet survive, stamped on these lifeless things,
        The hand that mocked them and the heart that fed.
        And on the pedestal these words appear —
        “My name is Ozymandias, king of kings:
        Look on my works, ye Mighty, and despair!”
        Nothing beside remains. Round the decay
        Of that colossal wreck, boundless and bare
        The lone and level sands stretch far away.’

        ~ Percy Bysshe Shelley

        April 21, 2012 at 3:31 pm

        • Marvelous poem. Thank you so much for sharing it! Indeed, nature always wins, and the creations of humankind will always eventually succumb to Time.

          April 22, 2012 at 1:29 am

  4. Snakes or no snakes, it was worth the risk…these shots are beautiful!

    April 20, 2012 at 12:54 pm

    • Thank you so much, Elisa. I’m really glad you like them. I enjoy these little adventures, although now I keep showing up to work with mud and dirt on my shoes and pants. πŸ™‚

      April 21, 2012 at 2:03 am

  5. great find! (and shots!)

    April 20, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  6. Love number 7!
    Buildings being taken over by nature…

    April 20, 2012 at 1:28 pm

    • Karen, it’s an amazing place, overwhelmingly earthly and almost unearthly at the same time (some of the big, fat vines taking over these structures look like creatures from another planet!) I’m glad you like number 7. πŸ™‚

      April 21, 2012 at 2:06 am

  7. nr 7, that’s my favorite!

    April 20, 2012 at 2:03 pm

  8. What a beautiful find, Melanie…can’t wait for the photos to follow! πŸ™‚

    April 20, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    • Scott, it’s an incredible place. It’s as if you can stand there and watch the trees and vines consume these buildings with your very own eyes. The force of nature…

      April 21, 2012 at 2:10 am

      • I could tell from the bit that the pictures showed, Melanie…it does look amazing. Could you hear them…the cells, almost, breaking in and down…? Sounds wonderful. πŸ™‚

        April 21, 2012 at 4:01 am

        • I’d swear I could hear them. πŸ™‚ Decay is strangely beautiful.

          April 22, 2012 at 1:09 am

          • Good for you…and yes, it is…so strangely beautiful. πŸ™‚

            April 22, 2012 at 1:23 am

  9. Wonderful find! Love the textures and colors.

    April 20, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    • So glad you like it! I’ll be posting more photographs from this site tomorrow (and the next day), and the textures become more and more interesting, I think.

      April 21, 2012 at 2:16 am

  10. George Weaver

    These are fantastic. Keep those boots in the car! And, watch out for those cats. I really do like these. I wonder what happened to the people. I always wonder about that. Something is changing in our society, and I’m not sure it’s healthy.

    April 20, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    • I wonder about where the people go, too. And in this case, when you see these structures close up, I wonder what happened exactly. It appears these buildings must have been severely damaged in a storm. Believe it or not, on my way to and from work today I spotted two more… and, yes, stopped at both (and in one case thought I ripped a big hole in the underside of my car it was so “off-road”…. Now I’m going to have to get some sort of SUV for these treks πŸ˜‰ One thing leads to another. First the boots, then a fire extinguisher, and now a new vehicle. πŸ˜€

      April 21, 2012 at 2:23 am

  11. Steve Barnes

    There’s a struggle going on… I think the plants will win…!

    April 20, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    • I think you’ll see from the photos I’m going to post tomorrow that you’re absolutely right, Steve. πŸ™‚

      April 21, 2012 at 2:24 am

  12. Oooooohhh, I like the look of this one! Take us in there!

    April 21, 2012 at 1:11 am

    • First, we’ll have a little peek at through the windows. πŸ˜‰ Stay tuned!

      April 21, 2012 at 2:24 am

  13. you have a soft spot for anything abandoned and dilapidated, don’t you πŸ™‚

    April 21, 2012 at 2:39 am

  14. Another great series…I have gotta get my butt to your area with my camera in hand

    April 21, 2012 at 7:34 am

    • So much to see! You’d better bring LOTS of memory cards. πŸ™‚

      April 22, 2012 at 1:09 am

  15. #5 and #7 had me shouting, “I wanna go in! I wanna go in! I wanna go in!” Great shots!

    April 21, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    • When I was approaching the building, those angles looked most interesting to me, too. When you see tomorrow’s post, you’ll that actually going IN probably isn’t a good idea. I decided to just shoot from the doorways this time. I wasn’t so sure about the stability of these structures. I get a little bit hesitant about wandering into unstable places when no one knows where I am. You’ll get a better sense of what I’m talking about tomorrow. Thanks for your nice words about the photos. πŸ™‚

      April 22, 2012 at 1:18 am

  16. Awesome find Melanie!!
    Great shots; I wonder about the third one, it looks amazing,is it hdr?

    April 23, 2012 at 2:59 am

  17. elmediat

    Wonderful sequence It speaks to me of endless summer and childhood. Thanks. πŸ™‚

    April 23, 2012 at 3:29 pm

  18. Great find!

    June 2, 2012 at 7:51 pm

Comments and Suggestions

