Flowers—Lines—Ice

A Quick Stop on the Side of the Road

45 responses

  1. Wonderful textures and colors.

    April 19, 2012 at 10:35 am

    • Thank you. I wish I had time to explore more. There was a lot to see here.

      April 19, 2012 at 10:39 am

  2. Nice series of photos..

    April 19, 2012 at 10:36 am

  3. Wonderful set and compositions you did… The colours with nature are amazing… I loved them all dear Melania, Thank you, with my love, nia

    April 19, 2012 at 10:55 am

    • Thank you so much, nia. It was the color of the barn amid the bright green of the grass that really caught my eye from the road. I’m so glad you like the photographs. I loved your post yesterday with your remembrances about the church in Germany. It really moved me. It was such a beautiful and and thoughtful way to accept that award.

      April 19, 2012 at 11:19 am

      • You are welcome dear Melanie, you are so nice. Your artistic eye is great… The colours hit me in this set. Have a nice day, and Thank you so much, Love, nia

        April 19, 2012 at 11:24 am

  4. sorry so sorry spelling mistake I did, dear Melanie…

    April 19, 2012 at 10:55 am

  5. What an old and charming stable. Love the colour. 🙂

    April 19, 2012 at 11:56 am

  6. Lovely series of photos.

    April 19, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    • Julie

      Beautiful shots. I especially love the first vista….

      April 19, 2012 at 5:14 pm

      • Thank you, Julie. I am so fond of all these old roads around here. The more I drive around, the more I discover. We really live in a beautiful area!

        April 20, 2012 at 2:36 am

  7. I love the fence in the first shot… nice series Melanie

    April 19, 2012 at 4:24 pm

  8. Great series. I especially like the close-up of the door (#4).Beautiful colors and saturation.

    April 19, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    • Thank you, Carissa. The doors were so fascinating. It was all I could to keep myself from opening them! Circumstances didn’t lend themselves to trespassing beyond what I was already doing by prowling all over the property. 🙂

      April 20, 2012 at 2:30 am

  9. George Weaver

    These old barns in N.E. are different. Like European structures? There is so much here to like. The angles in the bottom one. The combo of textures and colors. The bricks and stone. I am still looking! 🙂 The technical aspects are perfect too, you know.

    April 19, 2012 at 4:48 pm

    • I think they do indeed resemble European structures. I was struck by the combinations of materials in this building. Wait until you see what I have for tomorrow. I couldn’t believe my luck today! It’s unbelievable the treasures that are tucked back in old country roads around here.

      April 20, 2012 at 2:34 am

      • George Weaver

        I know. I was struck by the different materials too. I think they built with what was available without much regard for matching stuff. And, it’s charming.
        Come on. Post it. 🙂

        April 20, 2012 at 2:54 am

  10. Yas

    Hmm, looks alot like an abandoned barn that once housed horses. Is it? 😉
    Great photos by the way… I especially love the view in the first one. 🙂

    April 19, 2012 at 4:53 pm

    • I think you’re right, Yas. It looks to me like that’s what it probably was used for. I’m glad you liked the photos. 🙂

      April 20, 2012 at 2:35 am

  11. Mae Jean

    Love the closer-ups, the textures are great!

    April 19, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    • Thank you so much for your visit, Mae Jean! I appreciate your feedback.

      April 20, 2012 at 2:38 am

  12. Hi, I often do like you, stop on the side of the road to look at old barns and buildings. Many of them are falling down these days, and it is sad. But nice to see such photos. The red barn is not that much different from our old barns in Norway…

    April 19, 2012 at 8:02 pm

    • Bente, isn’t it amazing to explore old, abandoned structures? Now that I’ve discovered how much fun it is, I can’t stop. 🙂 Lots of them are in absolute ruins, but that’s where I’ve found some of the most interesting things to photograph. Wonderful rust and rot. It may sound odd, but I find decay to be visually very intriguing. Thank you so much for your comment today!

      April 20, 2012 at 2:44 am

  13. Beautiful! Now THAT is a big, red barn!

    April 19, 2012 at 8:42 pm

    • 🙂 Yes, very big, and VERY red. Your comment really brought a smile to my face, thank you!

      April 20, 2012 at 2:45 am

  14. Keep stopping when you eye and you imagination are captured, and keep sharing what you find! I am particularly fond of your compositions in the first and sixth ones. Are you going to take us inside? Please?

    April 20, 2012 at 2:26 am

    • Gary, I’m grateful for the encouragement. It’s so wonderful to explore all these back roads in my area. I really wish I could have ventured inside the barn I posted today, but I just couldn’t do it this time. My wandering onto the property was already serious trespassing (and there were witnesses driving and walking by), and a house just over the hill that was most likely connected to the barn. My instinct (which is very reliable) was telling me not to do it. Check back tomorrow, though, because I had a great find today! 🙂

      April 20, 2012 at 2:52 am

  15. These are very beautiful, stealthy Lemony!

    April 20, 2012 at 3:19 am

  16. Hola Melanie!
    I love the different angles that you chose for these shots, they all are amazing and have great colors and textures.
    I love the fist one, looks like a painting!

    April 20, 2012 at 3:39 am

    • Thank you, Pablo. I’ve fallen a bit behind in my visits, but I’ll be over as soon as I can. I know you’ve got some great stuff over there! I can’t wait to see what you’ve been up to!

      April 21, 2012 at 1:48 am

  17. God damn….you found another one….image six is my favourite….love the decay

    April 20, 2012 at 8:01 am

    • 😀 I’m hooked, I tell you! I see all kinds of places from the highway that I can’t figure out how to get to. But this summer I’ll have a bit more time, so I’ll be getting out my map! Stay tuned! 😉

      April 21, 2012 at 1:49 am

  18. Good series, Melanie. My favourites are 3 and 4 for their composition.

    April 20, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    • I meant 5 & 6. Last time I looked the first two images didn’t load.

      April 20, 2012 at 2:18 pm

      • Thank you! I really appreciate your feedback. I’m so glad you like 5 & 6. 🙂

        April 21, 2012 at 2:07 am

  19. I can understand stopping…but driving away? How did you do it?! 🙂

    Very nice…thank you.

    April 20, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    • It started raining!! AND I was on private property (I have this terrible habit now of trespassing…). I start to get a little antsy after a certain point and sense that I’m pressing my luck. Maybe I’m just paranoid 😉 . Anyway, I simply had to leave. But this IS a place that I’ll pass by again, and maybe I’ll work up the nerve to ask someone for permission to go inside. (I’m exceptionally introverted, and so this would take some serious motivation–the asking, I mean. 😉

      I’m so glad you liked the photos.

      April 21, 2012 at 2:15 am

      • Oh yes…another opportunity for growth, says the introvert to the other introvert!! Be careful…it looks like it will be worth the moment’s discomfort of asking to visit the place for longer. And I loved the photos. 🙂

        April 21, 2012 at 3:59 am

  20. elmediat

    Excellent sequence. The barn structure is very similar to those in Ontario. We have a round barn near our community. I have not been by there in years. Hopefully we manage a visit this summer.

    April 23, 2012 at 3:47 pm

Comments and Suggestions

