Flowers—Lines—Ice

Pink Canopy

41 responses

  1. Simply gorgeous…..I need to take a few photos of our pink dogwoods before they fade away….something about any pink flowering tree that screams “SPRING” !!!!

    Pam (and Sam)

    April 10, 2012 at 10:42 am

    • Thank you, Pam (and Sam). I have tried several times this week to get some shots of Dogwoods, and I’m just not happy with the results. Maybe I’ll post one of them tomorrow. They’re very tricky to capture in the way that I envision. I can’t seem to cram everything that’s so wonderful about them into my image, while also getting close enough: I like macros you know 🙂

      April 11, 2012 at 12:44 am

  2. A veeeeeery beautiful picture, Lemony!

    April 10, 2012 at 10:52 am

  3. Stunning! Would you mind if I used it for my spring post? It’s so beautiful – I will give you full credit as always!

    April 10, 2012 at 11:14 am

    • Thank you so much! I would be honored if you used it, thank you.

      April 10, 2012 at 11:17 am

  4. Maman

    Melanie, I think this is one of your BEST!! How beautiful. One is just drawn up into this floral clouds by the paths of the trunks. This one is a real winner. Love, Maman

    April 10, 2012 at 11:57 am

  5. Love the POV and colors.

    April 10, 2012 at 12:22 pm

  6. Wow, What a beautiful flower. It’s amazing.

    April 10, 2012 at 12:40 pm

  7. Very nice. The angle is spot on.

    April 10, 2012 at 12:41 pm

  8. Wonderful composition

    April 10, 2012 at 12:57 pm

  9. Love the composition, point of view and of course, the color! Gorgeous!

    April 10, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    • Thank you, Carissa. I’m really glad you like it. The colors are really just so vivid this time of year. Sometimes I can hardly believe my eyes!

      April 11, 2012 at 12:47 am

  10. This is a world class shot Lemony! You nailed this!

    April 10, 2012 at 6:45 pm

    • Thanks, Michael! That is really so kind of you! I think I’m falling behind over on your site, but I’ll get there. I always catch up!

      April 11, 2012 at 12:47 am

      • No worries Lemony, I am writing some longer pieces of fiction that more time to read. I have a guest blogger tomorrow with a shorter piece so you will be all good 🙂 Make sure you focus on your amazing work, I am not going anywhere 🙂

        April 11, 2012 at 1:57 am

  11. Beautiful picture. Don’t you just love Spring?! 😉

    April 10, 2012 at 7:22 pm

    • I do love Spring, Yvonne! And it’s just bursting all over the place here. Thank you so much for your visit!

      April 11, 2012 at 12:48 am

  12. Julie

    Beautiful Melanie.

    April 10, 2012 at 7:40 pm

  13. George Weaver

    Hey, now, you outdid yourself this time. It is reminiscent of the giant redwood shots. The surprise is at the top! I can’t stop looking at it. 🙂 I am downloading it to play black and white. No, I won’t dis you by posting or sharing! 😉 (Only on my desktop…)

    April 10, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    • George Weaver

      Nope, I couldn’t bring myself to sacrifice the color and texture. This pattern reaches the ground even with the sky showing through. I’m still staring at it. The composition astounds me. What an eye you have, child.

      April 10, 2012 at 9:13 pm

    • It’s wonderful that you thought of the shots of the giant redwoods, because that is exactly the feeling I experienced (and hoped to convey) standing beneath these magnificent trees. I’m curious to have a look now, myself, at the shot in b&w. Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about this photograph. As I’ve said before, I always find your feedback (positive or negative) to be so helpful.

      April 11, 2012 at 1:15 am

  14. What a beauty!
    I don’t know how big this tree is, but it looks really gigantic, you chose a great angle to show us this tree.
    Beautiful colors, composition, and I love the contrast between the pink and the blue sky.

    April 10, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  15. George Weaver

    I know why we are drawn to this photograph. It is a profound statement of the condition of all living things. There are contrasts and opposites here. There is the powerful and the vulnerable. A great strength and an impossible fragility. They come together in a majestic and momentary celebration of the cosmic elements joined in a single song of praise. We see it and we understand the beauty and the transience of life. We are allowed a glimpse, and then it is gone. You have captured this universal truth in your photograph.

    April 10, 2012 at 10:41 pm

    • Such wonderful, poetic words, George, thank you. Thank you for the attention you have given this; I can’t tell you how grateful I am. Yes, what attracts me to these trees is exactly what you’ve identified: the incredible force of their dark, rough trunks and branches juxtaposed with the fragility of their delicate, silky pink blossoms. You have expressed so beautifully a symbolism that can be drawn from such a marvelous fusion of opposites.

      April 11, 2012 at 1:31 am

  16. Not only a great angle, but the clarity and composition is magnificent!

    April 10, 2012 at 10:56 pm

  17. Stunning!

    April 10, 2012 at 11:57 pm

  18. The trunks remind me of palm trees, but the blossoms sure don’t. An effective combination.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    April 11, 2012 at 2:44 am

  19. Fantastic perspective. very beautiful 🙂

    April 11, 2012 at 10:40 am

  20. Clever shot….love the trunks leading us up to the splash of colour

    April 16, 2012 at 9:10 am

  21. this is very beautiful

    April 19, 2012 at 8:52 am

  22. What beauty!

    April 25, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Comments and Suggestions

