Flowers—Lines—Ice

Bull’s Eye!

41 responses

  1. AMAZING!

    April 9, 2012 at 10:47 am

    • Thank you! And thank you for your recent visit and many supportive comments.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:20 am

  2. myfullresearch

    A precious school of fine sensibility !
    mfr

    April 9, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • Thank you very much, mfr. As always, I’m so grateful for your encouragement.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:19 am

  3. I have literally seen hundreds of shots of dandelion seeds, but I have honestly NEVER seen one as original as this before. I just love it.

    April 9, 2012 at 11:13 am

    • Wow, thank you so much, Tracie, for this wonderful compliment!

      April 10, 2012 at 1:06 am

  4. Your love affair with dandelions is paying dividends Melanie.. great photo!

    April 9, 2012 at 11:13 am

  5. Jolly good! You are the queen of Dandelions!

    April 9, 2012 at 11:23 am

  6. Great composition! It’s like the top one has a mohawk!

    April 9, 2012 at 12:07 pm

    • Thanks, Denzil. I can see the mohawk, now that you mention it!

      April 10, 2012 at 1:07 am

  7. Super macro!

    April 9, 2012 at 2:11 pm

  8. I keep looking for angels dancing on the head of the top one!

    April 9, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  9. That is such a great series of detail

    April 9, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    • Thanks, Michael. I just can’t seem to get enough of these Dandelions!
      🙂

      April 10, 2012 at 1:21 am

  10. More great shots….now if you would just get a bit closer I would know you were getting there 😉

    April 9, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    • Ha Ha! I just know I can get inside these dandelions! 🙂 There’s got to be a lens for that.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:13 am

  11. Just wonderful Lemony! Love the colour that is happening too.

    April 9, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  12. This is beautiful!
    There are lots of things in this world that we never appreciate, and I’m really glad that you are showing them to us.
    Have a great week Melanie!

    April 9, 2012 at 7:04 pm

    • Thank you, Pablo. I appreciate these words. I have the impression sometimes that I’m looking at the world from a bit of a different perspective (as we all do, for that matter). It’s nice to know that my point of view, even when I linger longer than most might like on a theme or subject, can be meaningful for others, too.

      April 10, 2012 at 1:18 am

  13. Crazy detail…very nice. 🙂

    April 10, 2012 at 3:39 am

  14. When I was working in a harbalium, I took photos of hundreds of the seeds,
    together with its cut open photo (whether seed has hair or not could make it different spiecis) though I haven’t photographed dandelion then.
    So, this is the first time to have its close look.
    I’m very appreciated your effort and the amazing photos here.

    April 10, 2012 at 9:20 am

    • That must have been really interesting work! There is something fascinating about looking so closely at things, isn’t there. It makes me really happy to know that you’ve enjoyed my dandelion photos.

      April 11, 2012 at 12:42 am

  15. Great images Melanie, sufficiently far back to see it’s biology but close enough in to be kind of abstract too.

    How did you manage to get so close and keep the depth of field?

    April 10, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    • Thanks, Finn. I find that I’m still able to preserve the depth when I’m right on my subject, as I was with this shot, using my macro lens, and stopping down to f/2.0 (ISO 100, 1/2000 sec).

      April 11, 2012 at 1:03 am

      • Thanks for the info Melanie. I need to add a macro lens to my Christmas list.

        April 11, 2012 at 8:08 pm

  16. So cool!

    April 10, 2012 at 10:57 pm

  17. George Weaver

    You’ve got it here too. 😉

    April 11, 2012 at 3:42 am

  18. George Weaver

    Lemony, here is a photographer you might like. He talks about his shots and how he captures them, etc. He has a dandelion too, but different from your studies.
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com/2011/06/04/basket-flower/

    April 11, 2012 at 4:38 am

    • Thank you, George, for this link. I’m a follower of Steve’s and have consulted with him a couple of times about a few things I’m trying to figure out and learn about. He’s incredibly generous about sharing his knowledge. He is truly an outstanding photographer and I have a lot to learn from him. I’m so behind in my visits. I’ve read your posts but haven’t had a chance to comment (but WILL!). I’m really eager to stop by. I’ve also been meaning to tell you that although you added your blog back to your gravatar page after changing the URL, the link itself doesn’t work when I’m looking at it right now in the comment box. I cannot, for example, go up and link to your page from here because the URL reads “gweavreii.wordpress.com” (and I know that your current URL is “georgeweaver.wordpress.com”) And I think some people (me included) jump to blogs that way. I’m not sure how you change that section (the information listed beneath your gravatar icon, but that’s what needs to be updated). Also, I happened to see in your conversation with Michael on his recent post your comments about “tags.” I’d be happy to share with you what I know about tags sometime. They really are essential if you want to increase traffic. They will also really help you over time (I’m finding) organize, group, and find past posts.

      April 12, 2012 at 2:20 am

      • George Weaver

        You know, I don’t want to increase traffic. I am really slow to visit people who are kind enough to comment on my blog already. I don’t think I could keep up with any more people. I have finally learned who everybody is that I follow and enjoy so much. I am too horsey for most people…as you know! If I am really fond of you, I say stuff I should not say. My daughter is always saying, “Mo..THER! You can’t say that!” My office manager was always saying, “George! You aren’t really going to say that, are you?” My doctor from Cuba says I have a “cutting tongue like a knife”. I about dropped dead over that one. She is a gorgeous young woman whom I’ve known personally since she came here and think of as a daughter. I don’t dare to risk letting myself loose on unsuspecting folks.
        I read that you use a compact camera. I re-read it. I could not believe you are producing these incomparable photographs with a compact camera. It must make you smile to know how much real money other photographers invest in equipment. It is incredible what you are doing with that camera. Don’t change a thing. No new camera. Nothing.
        I tried to change the link under my Gravatar. WP is insistent on going back to the “gweaverii” which I abandoned. I suppose I have to contact WP support. Thanks for reminding me. I wouldn’t have known to change the link if you hadn’t told me. I was really touched by Billy Bob’s photos and his story. I’m sure he’s happy where he is. He’d be lonely without his family, you know. Hugs for beautiful Lillia.

        April 12, 2012 at 3:25 am

        • I know what you mean about having a hard time keeping up with the traffic you already have. I think what attracts people to you is indeed your open way of expressing yourself. People are gravitating to you through the frank (i.e. refreshingly honest) comments you make on other people’s blogs I think, and perhaps that’s exactly how it should be: they’ll know what they’re getting into that way 😉

          Yes, I have a compact camera, a Panasonic Lumix LX5 (http://www.bhphotovideo.com/bnh/controller/home?O=&sku=723288&Q=&is=REG&A=details). It’s a step up from a basic compact camera. My dad, who knows everything there is to know about cameras, researched with me, when I expressed an interest in moving to a new level in photography but said I wasn’t ready for a DSLR. We did lots and lots of comparisons, and decided this was the camera for me. Melinda has a great DSLR, which I can practice with if I want, but I wanted something that I could have with me all the time, and that I could learn just about everything I need to know before making the move to a DSLR. I find that most people who have DSLRs don’t know how to use them. They tell me that they don’t even know what any of the special features are or what to do with them. My Lumix basically does everything a DSLR does, although there are of course limitations when it comes to lenses, etc. I can control aperture, shutter speed, exposure… everything I want to really. I have read many times that it is not the camera but the person behind the camera who makes the shots, and I really think that’s the case, although I know there are lots of circumstances where a DSLR would come in handy. But my Lumix is extremely portable and I have been very happy with the quality of the images I get out of it.

          Thank you for the hugs for Lillia. I’ll pass them her way. I have some Easter photos I took of her I can send to you over email.

          Sweet Billy Bob is such a love. I really wish I could bring him home, but you’re right, he has been at the shelter most of his life, and that is his home now. At his age, it would be traumatic to take him away from his family there.

          April 12, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      • George Weaver

        I do need to organize the people whom I follow and the posts. Thank you, Lemony.

        April 12, 2012 at 3:26 am

  19. This is amazing and I haven’t seen something like that before… Thank you dear Melaine, with my love, nia

    April 16, 2012 at 11:05 am

    • I got on a big dandelion obsession, and now have hundreds of images. They are lots of fun to play with. 🙂

      April 17, 2012 at 1:04 pm

      • I can guess how fun to play with them… You are doing great dear Melaine, Thanks and Love, nia

        April 17, 2012 at 1:18 pm

  20. settleandchase

    Fantastic..

    April 16, 2012 at 3:24 pm

  21. Very cool!

    April 25, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Comments and Suggestions

