Flowers—Lines—Ice

A Mad Dash off the Highway

This is a place I’ve been curious about for a while now.  To get to it, I had to pull over on the side of Highway 81, with 18-wheelers flying by me at 90 miles an hour.  Dash up the side of a mushy, muddy hill (we won’t mention the little fence I had to climb over… it was hardly even noticeable anyway), run like a maniac taking photographs as quickly as possible  before the owners noticed the wild, crazy person on their property, and then calmly walk back down to re-enter my vehicle. No problem.

Unfortunately, the sun was beating shadows into all of my images, and I didn’t have time to adjust my camera on site, so I’m really just going to give you what I got, with just some minor cropping and some B&W treatment for the last image to compensate for the over exposure.

Nothing spectacular here.  Just a fun, tangly, quick adventure.  My favorite detail of this building is the light fixture next to the window and fully intact lightbulb that shows up in the 6th image.

25 responses

  1. I particularly like the one of the half wall with half window and intact lightbulb. With a chimney and everything, one wonders what this was originally built and used as.

    April 8, 2012 at 11:09 am

    • There is something interesting to me about the one with the light bulb, too. And you’ve hit on what intrigues me about these old buildings: I really do enjoy imagining what they were originally used for… who built them, who lived there….

      April 9, 2012 at 1:36 am

  2. Nothing like a little trespassing to liven up a photography session! LOL What an interesting little building that is though……!!

    Pam (and Sam)

    April 8, 2012 at 11:21 am

  3. For such a building you take trespassing for granted 😉

    April 8, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  4. myfullresearch

    Oh, the weird old houses…
    mfr

    April 8, 2012 at 1:58 pm

  5. carl Johnson

    Great photos. I love old barns, and farm houses thinking about th people who lived there long ago. I took down a barn and used some of its beams to build the house at “the land”.

    Carl

    April 8, 2012 at 3:52 pm

    • Carl, I really enjoy old barns, too, and there are LOTS of them around PA. I imagine there are a fair number of abandoned places up on Maine, too. You’ll have to keep your eye out for places to explore this summer!

      April 9, 2012 at 1:46 am

  6. Melanie, I love the shadows in the first one, you should keep it like this 🙂
    The place looks messy but nice to go and take some photos.
    Awesome shots, they are all very nicely composed.

    April 8, 2012 at 4:19 pm

  7. I love the shadows in the first image. And your description of the photo shoot. You are awesome Lemony! 🙂

    April 8, 2012 at 4:29 pm

  8. Nice find . . . old run down buildings make such interesting subjects.

    April 8, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  9. George Weaver

    These are all really good. I like the first one with the shadow of the skeletal roof. I love how the door is shut and the light bulb is intact, but half the house is falling down. At least, somebody closed the door when they left. Is this a house? I think it was charming once. Now, it is too. 🙂

    April 9, 2012 at 2:54 am

  10. I don’t really know how young you are… maybe it’s right for you… but I would advise to avoid mad dashes… there is time in this world… and so much more to discover without the pressure.

    April 9, 2012 at 5:12 am

  11. Interesting. I can see it as the featured property in a b-grade horror movie. lol

    April 9, 2012 at 6:23 am

  12. love it! I do that… wonder what’s beyond what I can see when I’m drivign and then pull over every now and then to take some photos, so I can wonder a little more about the story behind the ruin…

    April 9, 2012 at 10:19 am

  13. LOL….I love your adventures…I can just picture you scampering around shooting everything that stands still….I think the B&W image is tops

    April 9, 2012 at 2:54 pm

  14. Were you inspired here by Mike’s Look at Life? I love dilapidated building shots 🙂

    April 9, 2012 at 3:05 pm

  15. Another great series of images. I really like the shadows in the first one, and the last black and white one really works too.

    April 9, 2012 at 6:41 pm

  16. Nice find. There is definitely something about abadoned/derelict buildings that really spurs my curiousity.

    April 10, 2012 at 12:44 pm

    • Yes, I just can’t help myself when I come across a place like this. I always like to see the places you explore, too!

      April 11, 2012 at 12:45 am

  17. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog this morning. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as clean as when I arrived.

    April 25, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    • You are so kind to hang out here and explore. I am deeply grateful for your visit and kind words. Thank you very much! I really means a lot to me.

      April 27, 2012 at 1:30 am

Comments and Suggestions

