Flowers—Lines—Ice

Skull of an Herbivore (We’re getting closer!)

I posted a photograph from the inside of this animal’s mouth the other day, and it has prompted some questions about the type of animal the teeth belong to.  Gary, who is a veterinarian and is the author of the wonderul blog, krikitarts, (check it out, his photographs are spectacular!)  has offered to try to identify the animal for me.  Thanks, Gary!

I should mention that I did not move the skull at all when I came upon it.  Someone else had placed it on the branches this way.

I’m sending this post out earlier than I usually do because I’m going to be out of town for the rest of the week (in D.C.) and won’t be able to post my daily photographs. I’ll be back next week, raring to go.  Thank  you to everyone for your support and wonderful feedback over the last couple of months. Your encouragement means so much to me.   I will really miss seeing everyone’s posts throughout the week, but will look forward to catching up next week.

Best wishes to all!

Lemony

13 responses

  1. George Weaver

    Great shots of the skull. Why the heck aren’t MY photos that perfect? Heck, I’d settle for half as good… Have a good time in DC.

    March 21, 2012 at 2:30 am

  2. This shall be my new euphemism for any bad words that happen to pop into my head. Like when something scares you, “SKULL OF AN HERBIVORE!!!” and then turn white as a sheet. (assuming its white…as a white sheet can be…) But I digress. 🙂 Lovely BW photo on the top.

    March 21, 2012 at 3:20 am

    • Ha ha ha! I love that… That could come in handy as a euphemism.

      March 26, 2012 at 1:06 am

  3. Nice photos.
    Have an amazing trip Melanie!!

    March 21, 2012 at 3:46 am

  4. Well I said I thought it was a sheep, but now I don’t think so…teeth are too far back from the snout….so I’m thinking maybe deer

    Have fun in DC lass….see you real soon

    March 21, 2012 at 9:16 am

  5. nice update -happy stay out of town !

    March 21, 2012 at 6:46 pm

  6. I’m going to D.C. too! Are we going for the same Reason???

    March 21, 2012 at 7:35 pm

  7. Melanie, my best guess is that it’s from a deer. Can you provide with measurements–length of what’s left (obviously, the nose part is missing) and width between the bony arches below the eyes? Also, where did you find it? In the woods? Are there any herbivores that inhabit that terrain other than deer? Any additional hints would help, but a deer is the #1 suspect at this point. Happy to help, Gary

    March 23, 2012 at 4:15 am

    • Hi, Gary. I’ll see if I can go back to measure it (but probably can’t back to it right away). I came upon it in a wooded area near a neighborhood that is close to some farmland and a highway. I have observed deer wandering through there from time to time (strangely enough). There are not any herbivores (that I’m aware of) other than deer, and the deer would only be passing through. I think you’ve nailed it. Given that it’s an herbivore, and there simply aren’t any others (or haven’t been any others witnessed) in that area, it must be a deer. Thanks, again!

      March 26, 2012 at 1:13 am

Comments and Suggestions

