Flowers—Lines—Ice

A Cracked Lamppost

13 responses

  1. Nice effects…….interesting when the most mundane of “things” can become so interesting through the eye of the camera!

    Pam (and Sam)

    March 19, 2012 at 11:19 am

    • Yes, there is something about peering through that “eye”that makes the world look different.

      March 20, 2012 at 3:23 am

  2. George Weaver

    I like #1 and #3 and #5 and #7. I can’t figure out the others! 🙂 You know how slow I am…. These are nice, sharp photos.

    March 19, 2012 at 11:24 am

    • George, you’re the last person on the planet that I’d ever call “slow.” … If you can’t figure out the others, then they don’t work for you, and perhaps aren’t successful images at all. Not that this is an explanation (because it is entirely possible that the images are failures… I am experimenting and am grateful for direct feedback like that… what works, what doesn’t), but one thing I’m noticing is how the “crunching” that WP imposes is really affecting some of my images, one in particular in this set. I can’t remember now which number it is without going out and coming back in, but it’s the one where only a slight sliver of the lightbulb is showing on the right side: it looks entirely different, much crisper with a lot more angles on my computer screen.

      March 20, 2012 at 3:30 am

      • George Weaver

        I replied to this and lost it! I hit the wrong key, I guess. I see what you mean by the distortion from “crunching”. I knew something was amiss. I see that all the time. I upload something and it looks entirely different…either too dark or too light or diminished detail. There is absolutely no reason for that since I upload high-resolution images. You should complain. It’s important for your photography that it be a clean representation on the blog. I am just annoyed. I wonder if other photographers like you are having such a problem? You are brave to photograph glass, but you have such a lot of experience with ice and glass. You are good, you know! 😉 And you never become redundant. Always something new or a fresh take on something you may have done before. That creativity just flows through the veins, huh? 🙂

        March 20, 2012 at 7:13 am

  3. I like how your pic of subject ‘says’ that everything has a story or the ability to throw a different light on our daily lives – 4 and 7 are my favorites – to me they show just a subtle but nonetheless surprising crack

    March 19, 2012 at 1:50 pm

  4. Great abstract effects from a very ordinary item….great work

    March 19, 2012 at 5:55 pm

  5. It’s amazing how you find these amazing photos is something that simple.
    Nicely done Melanie!

    March 19, 2012 at 6:59 pm

  6. I like the way you put mystery back into life. Particularly like the close-ups.

    March 19, 2012 at 9:46 pm

  7. Amazing! Very creative. I love all the fantastic details you’ve captured.

    March 20, 2012 at 10:06 am

    • Thank you, Inga. I’m glad you can see them. I feel like a lot of the details are lost because of the compression of the files that’s required to upload to WP. It may depend on individual computer screens, too, how things appear after the “crunching.” Anyway, thank you for your comment!

      March 21, 2012 at 1:37 am

  8. I love it when someone finds beauty in apparently mundane things – interesting series!

    March 20, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Comments and Suggestions

