Flowers—Lines—Ice

Everyday Sidewalk Finds

There are a few reasons I bump into or trip over things when I’m walking, but one of them is because I’m constantly looking and trying to maintain a state of mind where I am seeing. I look hard, scanning the ground, bushes, trees, and, of course, the sidewalk for things I’d like to photograph.  So,  actually, I end up not looking where I’m going, which is how I end up with the occasional thump and bruise (those telephone poles just never see me coming!), but also how I end up with some special finds or unusual angles on very ordinary things.  And then there are just regular things that catch my eye that are not special in anyway at all, but which for some reason, because of my mood or frame of mind, I see in a different light.  I have a file where I keep these “everyday finds” (the photographs I mean).  I find something interesting about the things that people drop by accident or leave on purpose to the side of the walk. Below are a few recent finds (the third one, in case you’re wondering, is charred charcoal that someone had shoved to the side of a walkway).  You can tell that what I happen to shoot and how I render it depends entirely on the mood of the day:

20 responses

  1. to find things is one thing, to capture your frame of mind is quite another – and way more difficult – i think you did great with these – i especially like the second – probably, today that’s where our minds meet

    March 9, 2012 at 1:14 pm

    • Thank you, Katrien. That second one is my favorite in this group, too. I enjoyed your photographs yesterday (was it yesterday? I’ve lost track of time): you had a huge splash of red in one of yours. 🙂

      March 10, 2012 at 11:52 am

  2. There are always things you can find in the street and it’s fun. 🙂

    March 9, 2012 at 1:29 pm

  3. I like #2 best. Good composition and DOF, and a nice splash of red.

    March 9, 2012 at 1:46 pm

  4. The second and last ones are my favorites… great how photos can turn out, just shooting such ordinairy things…great

    March 9, 2012 at 8:11 pm

    • Thank you, Joanna! Sometimes I enjoy just playing around with very ordinary things to see what can happen.

      March 10, 2012 at 11:49 am

  5. George Weaver

    All of these are wonderful, as always, but I am fascinated by #1. Do you see the man’s head there? Ah, I love it!!

    March 10, 2012 at 2:50 am

    • I do see the head in there, George! I wondered if anyone else would! I’m glad you see it, too!

      March 10, 2012 at 11:47 am

  6. I laughed at your words….great finds and well shot as always

    March 10, 2012 at 8:42 am

  7. Great photos. My favorite is the second one. It really draws my attention to it with that great red color and fab contrasts.

    March 10, 2012 at 10:07 am

    • Thank you, Inga! I think that’s my favorite of the group, too.

      March 10, 2012 at 11:46 am

  8. Yes, definitely watch for telephone poles. Thanks for checking my blog.

    March 10, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • Thanks for your visit, Victor. I’ve been enjoying your blog for a while now and see you follow some of the same blogs I do. I always enjoy the backstories you include with your photos, as well as your suggestions for ways to improve an image.

      March 10, 2012 at 6:33 pm

  9. The first and last pix are my favourites, love their abstractness.

    March 11, 2012 at 3:30 am

    • Thank you for your feedback, and thanks for stopping by my blog! I just had a chance to explore your blog a bit, and I’m looking forward to future posts.

      March 11, 2012 at 4:04 am

  10. Beautiful set of photos Melanie.
    As usual, you always surprise me with different things.
    The first photo is my favorite from this set.

    March 11, 2012 at 6:22 am

  11. Where the sidewalk ends, your photos continue 🙂 Love the red ribbon (ribbon?)

    April 12, 2012 at 4:04 am

    • That’s a fun way to think about it! Yes, it’s a ribbon. 🙂 Thanks for your visit!

      April 13, 2012 at 1:30 am

Comments and Suggestions

