Flowers—Lines—Ice

Froth

Milkweed, an extraordinary weed.

20 responses

  1. Amazing Melanie… you just want to touch them …and experience whether they are as soft as they look like…

    February 22, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • Thank you, Joanna. The stuffing really is quite fluffy, while the outside of the pod has a very rough texture.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  2. I’ve seen this seed pod only twice in my life.
    Is it because I’m lazy or are they very rare, I don’t know 😀
    Nature’s fascination well captured.

    February 22, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    • Most of the pods are gone by now, but there are some hanging around. This one was standing alone in a field. It definitely caught my eye.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:22 pm

  3. Definitely extraordinary. I was glad you posted what it was because I was not sure. I love photos like that, when you don’t know what it is but it looks cool.

    February 22, 2012 at 3:08 pm

  4. the milkweed brings to mind so many childhood memories. I just loved cracking them open and pulling the stuffing out, fluffing them up and them blowing them up into the sky. a lovely couple of photos!

    February 22, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    • I had to resist pulling the stuffing out when I saw these, actually. It beckons that way, doesn’t it? I’m so glad I could prompt some memories; thank you for sharing your comment.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:19 pm

  5. sandy

    Our pods have flown the coop. Yours are neat!

    February 22, 2012 at 3:59 pm

    • Thank you, Sandy. Most of ours are gone, too, but there are some here and there still hanging around.

      February 22, 2012 at 9:20 pm

  6. So delicate!!

    February 22, 2012 at 6:21 pm

  7. Wow those are pretty weird looking eh…good capture

    February 22, 2012 at 6:30 pm

  8. Very pretty.

    February 22, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  9. Great find and even greater picture. 🙂

    February 23, 2012 at 12:45 am

  10. Very nice; I’ve never seen them outside of pictures.

    February 23, 2012 at 2:06 pm

    • Thank you. They’re very interesting to the touch, both inside and out. I never saw them growing up in the south (I may have just not noticed them), but they seem to be quite plentiful around here in Pennsylvania. I find their forms fascinating at all stages of their lives.

      February 23, 2012 at 2:47 pm

  11. i just love these!

    February 26, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    • Thank you so much! I’m a huge fan of your blog! You take amazing photographs!

      February 26, 2012 at 10:04 pm

Comments and Suggestions

