Flowers—Lines—Ice

300 Years Old

 

A 300-year-old Sycamore tree braves the “winter storm.”

27 responses

  1. Beautiful! Looks so lonely out there by itself….after 300 years I suppose it’s used to it though.

    Pam (and Sam)

    February 15, 2012 at 11:41 am

    • There is a bench just underneath it (it’s hard to see in the photograph but it’s there). I think it must have frequent visitors. 🙂

      February 15, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  2. Maman

    Melanie, this is beautiful!! I hope you will continue to photograph it as the seasons move on. Love, Maman

    February 15, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    • Maman, I definitely plan to keep up with this tree, now that we’re friends. 🙂

      February 15, 2012 at 6:12 pm

  3. wonderful tone – mesmerizing tree

    February 15, 2012 at 2:39 pm

    • It’s a spectacular tree. I’m afraid my photograph does not reveal how gigantic it is. Standing under it is a wonderful experience.

      February 15, 2012 at 6:13 pm

  4. Sycamores are among my favorite trees; we have planted two here, and we just love them. This one looks pretty lonely, though–good thing there’s a bench so folks can keep it company from time to time! Do you ever sit there?

    February 15, 2012 at 2:47 pm

    • Yes, Sycamores are very special. This one has caught my eye many times from the highway, actually, but it’s down a side road, so fairly easy to visit. This was my first visit, but I do plan to go back as the seasons progress. You can’t tell from the photo how huge the tree is, but it’s wonderful to sit on the bench and feel it towering above.

      February 15, 2012 at 6:15 pm

  5. Love it!!
    Great texture. Very elegant photo Melanie!!

    February 15, 2012 at 6:26 pm

  6. Such “grandeur” in its solitude. Imposing silence in the winter setting.

    February 15, 2012 at 9:14 pm

  7. Great capture of this wonderful beauty!

    February 15, 2012 at 9:24 pm

  8. Steve Barnes

    Great shot! Amazing – 300 years old!
    We must think along the same wavelength – I’ve got a picture of a tree I’m going to post at some point. I like trees standing there on their own.

    February 15, 2012 at 11:00 pm

    • Thanks, Steve. There is something so majestic about lone, giant trees.

      February 16, 2012 at 12:49 am

  9. Great shot…but I have to ask…how do you know its 300 years old without chopping it down 😉

    February 16, 2012 at 8:48 am

    • There is a sign next to it that indicates its age. I think there must other ways besides the rings to guesstimate the age.

      February 16, 2012 at 11:17 am

  10. That’s very very old. I wonder what all it has experienced… 😀

    Great photo. 🙂

    February 16, 2012 at 2:48 pm

    • I always wonder that about old trees… what they’ve seen and weathered… Thanks for stopping by!

      February 16, 2012 at 2:57 pm

  11. oooooh, do I ever love this photo. the majesty of it–the grand, stately nakedness of it–they are our touchstones–our wizened, earthy mothers-fathers. and your rendition of this speaks aloud without words.

    February 17, 2012 at 3:41 am

    • Lance, thank you for this wonderful comment. You are very kind. Standing beneath this majestic old tree, I felt I just couldn’t successfully capture its grandeur. The base of it is enormous, something that doesn’t quite come through, I don’t think, in my photograph. But I do hope to follow this tree through the seasons, now that I am acquainted with it, and will have plenty of opportunities to keep trying. Thank you so much for your visit. I’m so grateful that you took the time to stop by here.

      February 17, 2012 at 3:51 am

      • I can certainly see from the way it makes the bench look like doll house furniture that it honestly must be just the grandest of the grand. Oh please do honour us with more as the seasons progress. Thank you so much.

        February 17, 2012 at 3:56 am

        • Thank you for seeing the bench! And thank you for the encouragement and for signing up for my blog. I’m eager to spend some time exploring yours!

          February 17, 2012 at 4:05 am

  12. dianne - life as i see it

    very beautiful and peaceful

    February 18, 2012 at 1:02 am

  13. An incredible giant!
    I love trees 🙂

    February 18, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    • It really is so huge. It’s wonderful to stand under. I love trees, too, but can never seem to photograph them the way I want.

      February 18, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Comments and Suggestions

