Flowers—Lines—Ice

An unforgettable, heart-stopping blur

Here  are the first photographs in a series I took during a spontaneous visit with some cows.  A few details about the experience:  (1) The sky was very overcast; (2) I had to hurry, hurry, hurry to take these shots; and ( 3) My heart was utterly swollen with love for these precious, wide-eyed creatures. It was an incredibly moving experience for me.

This first set aims to convey some of the rush  of the moment.  I was overcome by blurry streaks and patches of light and dark, and suddenly found myself peering into the most gentle, curious eyes I’ve ever seen.

18 responses

  1. Cows are lovely and do have the most soulful eyes…..! Great shots.

    Pam

    February 12, 2012 at 12:14 pm

    • Yes, I had such an incredible “exchange” with them. Being the sole human in a large group of cows was truly a special experience for me. I was so moved by their gentle curiosity.

      February 12, 2012 at 12:18 pm

  2. lovely set, the second one really resonates

    February 12, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    • Thank you, Lesley. The second one is where we can really see into the eye of the cow. I debated about including that one because of the graininess of the image, but I think the grain actually contributes something special to the story of the shot in the end.

      February 12, 2012 at 12:22 pm

      • Very true and the skill is recognising those shots!

        February 12, 2012 at 12:24 pm

  3. Doesn’t get much better than close-up cow shots!

    February 12, 2012 at 1:23 pm

    • 🙂 It sure was a great experience. Thanks for your comment!

      February 12, 2012 at 2:10 pm

  4. I LOVE cows, as I grew up on a farm and we always had, and my parents still have cows…they are such fantastic creatures! thanks for sharing

    February 12, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    • Thanks so much for your comment, Joanna. I’ve always been drawn to cows when I’ve seen them, but I have absolutely no life experience with them whatsoever. So this venture into their world was particularly special for me.

      February 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

  5. Great! They are fantastic animals. Love the blur. 🙂

    February 12, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    • Thanks, Inga. I felt like I experienced cows like never before when I was right up close with them in person. Even in just my dash to get the photos and “be” with the cows in those few intense moments, I could appreciate their different “personalities” in the way they approached me (or stayed back) or the way they turned their heads to see me better, etc. I loved it!

      February 12, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  6. Great animals…but they can be dangerous…had a few farmers here killed by their own animals…so take care

    I love the second image

    February 12, 2012 at 7:20 pm

    • Wow, that’s a really scary and sad thought at the same time. I was and will be very careful, should I ever make another visit.

      February 13, 2012 at 1:18 am

  7. Cows are such an intereting subject!
    I saw so many of them today and I just wanted to stop the car and go out to take photos, but I was in a hurry 😦
    Lovely photos Melanie!
    The second is a great close-up!

    February 13, 2012 at 3:23 am

    • They are interesting! I couldn’t help but pull over that day, and you’ll see more of my shots today! 🙂

      February 13, 2012 at 11:05 am

  8. I went through all three series now and this one’s definitely my favorite. The blur-thing of these close ups matches perfectly with the fluff-thing of the cows, I think. And yes, their eyes are wonderful!

    February 14, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • You know, this set is my favorite, too. Although the graininess and blurriness might be an issue for some, for me these photos capture the emotion of the experience. Thank you so much for stopping by, Katrien. I’m always grateful for your input!

      February 14, 2012 at 10:14 pm

Comments and Suggestions

