Flowers—Lines—Ice

Getting off the train

I am honored today to be nominated by two wonderful bloggers for awards.  Pablo Buitrago has nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award (that’s my second), and George Weaver, my new most favorite blogger on WordPress, has nominated me for the Liebster Award.

Given the nature of these awards, as they are circulating around the blogosphere, I am going to take the liberty of changing the rules—or, rather, breaking the chain.  I am simply going to thank my dear blogging friends for the recognition. I am genuinely touched that they would recognize me in this way.

The Versatile Blogger Award

I have expressed before how much I enjoy Pablo’s blog (http://pablobuitrago365.wordpress.com) and how much I have gained from our interaction.  I have noted, through his comments not only on my own blog but on countless others, the great care he brings to the observations he makes about other people’s photography.  He is an outstanding photographer whose daily posts display not only his photographic skills, but also the intellectual curiosity he brings to his subjects.  I always look forward to his posts, and I’m sure you will, too.  Pablo, thank you so much for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award.  I admire the enthusiasm and the wonderful spirit of inquiry you continue to exhibit with each passing day.

The Liebster Award

I was surprised, and I must say, incredibly flattered to be included among the nominees of George for the Liebster Award.  It was only just recently that I came upon her blog, and from the moment I read that first post, I knew I had stumbled upon something, or rather someone very special.  Her photographs will draw you in before you even read the first word.  Then, when you start reading, you’ll discover a voice like none other.  The authenticity and originality of her voice seem to permeate her photographs.  (How does she do that?!)  She tells it like it is, and then some….  From what I’ve seen in the short time I’ve read her, this is a quick-witted, intellectually fearless, utterly charming woman who gets it. There is no one else like her on WordPress. Check her out:  http://gweaverii.me/

And now for a few final photographs from my railway adventure.  There is nothing special about the photographs, in fact the photos themselves have all kinds of problems (exposure, composition, etc.) but you can’t explore an abandoned railcar without running into some graffiti. What I like about these is imagining the scene on the railcar where these were painted:  the railcar is  located quite near  the women’s college where I teach…  These will be the last in my series from this week.  I’m getting off the train now. 🙂

20 responses

  1. Frank Wallace

    Those are thought provoking.

    February 11, 2012 at 1:09 pm

  2. myfullresearch

    Your photos are true food for mind.
    And, believe me, you are the best.
    Please, don’t be shy about your productions.
    Best regards,
    mfr

    February 11, 2012 at 3:26 pm

  3. I actually love graffiti, they’re an art form all on their own. Great job on these.

    February 11, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    • Thanks, Edith. I find graffiti a fascinating art form, too.

      February 11, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  4. Congrats on your nominations!

    February 11, 2012 at 4:31 pm

    • Thank you, Cee! And thank you for your frequent stop-ins to my blog and “likes.” I’m grateful!

      February 11, 2012 at 4:54 pm

  5. Love them!!
    I think they don’t have any problem, they are just different to all the photos of graffitis,, with different angles and textures.
    Nice post Melanie, and thanks for your words!!
    I also admire your enthusiasm and all the great and original work you show us!

    February 11, 2012 at 6:39 pm

  6. Good for you as far as the awards concerned, I posted something like this just yesterday….
    and I do like the graffiti pics, somebody just put some thinking on a wall to let others think…great!

    February 11, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    • Thanks, Joanna. I’m glad you like the graffiti… What appeals to me about it is the thought of our young women students traipsing up to this abandoned railcar to leave their mark.

      February 11, 2012 at 11:15 pm

  7. I like artistic grafitti…and this is just that…nice work

    February 11, 2012 at 8:16 pm

  8. Steve Barnes

    Hey, just wanted to say thanks for reading and commenting on my post!
    Appreciated! 🙂
    Congrats on your nominations!

    February 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    • Hey, Steve, my pleasure. I thought it was a great post. I’ve really enjoyed following your blog. Thanks to you, too, for this note of congratulations. 🙂

      February 11, 2012 at 11:19 pm

  9. gweaverii

    Well, Lemony! That’s what I am going to call you because I like the sound of it and the smell of it. I laughed when I saw this because I forgot that I nominated you! (As you’ve discovered, I am shameless.) I forget these days. I’m too busy with my thoughts to remember. At least, that’s what I tell myself.

    I don’t know where you live. I forgot that too if I ever read it. “A small women’s college” stuck in my head so I just dropped you right smack in the middle of mint juleps and magnolia trees. And that’s where you’re gonna’ stay.

    I can’t think of a grand way to tell you this. I felt good when you said, “She tells it like it is”. That foible has plagued me for a lifetime. I only learned the literal meaning as an old woman. A “foible”, I discovered, is the part of a sword between the middle and the point. I think my life has been spent somewhere between the middle and the point of that sword. I am encouraged and validated by your nonjudgmental understanding of me and of my intent.

    Bless you, child.

    February 11, 2012 at 11:29 pm

    • George, please do call me, Lemony. I love it that you forgot you nominated me. 🙂

      I have southern all in my bones, grew up in south, but live in Central PA now. But you can keep me in the middle of those lovely magnolia trees.

      Foible–such a great word. I am thrilled to learn it’s literal meaning and to learn of your position on that sword. I can’t tell you how delighted I am to have “met” you, George. 🙂

      February 11, 2012 at 11:50 pm

      • gweaverii

        As we southerners say, “Me too”. 😉

        February 12, 2012 at 12:04 am

  10. Some cool graffiti shots – and congrats on more awards.
    No need to apologize for your clicks. They are simply brilliant. Thanks for sharing.

    February 12, 2012 at 6:13 am

    • Thanks for your kind words, Kris. And thanks for the visit!

      February 12, 2012 at 11:52 am

Comments and Suggestions

