Flowers—Lines—Ice

Stepping points

I’m not sure what to call these exactly.  They’re a sort of grate, I guess (I clearly need to beef up on my railway terminology). I found several of them at various points around the abandoned railcar I visited (yes, I’m still my big rusty adventure:  it’s almost over, I promise!).  They serve as stepping points between the sections on the outside of the car.  I was interested in their shapes, which ended up causing a focal point problem for the photographs because there is no place to “land” really when looking at the images, but I shot them nonetheless…

 

 

 

23 responses

  1. Great shots, I like the first one best… great perspective

    February 10, 2012 at 12:10 pm

  2. Your photos prove that beauty can be found in the most “mundane” of things – even down along the railroad lines….in the nooks and crannies and rusty bits and pieces. That’s why I love photography so much!

    Pam

    February 10, 2012 at 12:14 pm

  3. I like second one 😀

    February 10, 2012 at 12:35 pm

  4. The texture and form really stand out in those monochromatic ones, very nice!

    February 10, 2012 at 1:19 pm

  5. I am a fan of the second one. I like how the light is hitting it and I love the grossness it kind of shows :). Very cool!

    February 10, 2012 at 5:23 pm

  6. gweaverii

    Good grief, these shots are phenomenal. This may sound gruesome, but i thought of the niches in the walls of a Roman catacomb. The second one reminds me of a line of Munch’s “Scream” paintings.

    February 10, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    • George, I absolutely LOVE how you see… Thank you for these wonderful comments!

      February 11, 2012 at 1:18 am

      • gweaverii

        You shot the photo. You created the images. I just looked. What I like here is that you showed us the original photograph. Then you showed us how you created something other worldly…almost…with a minimalist’s brush. You have a light touch. You don’t dump great heaping globs of paint onto your image, and you don’t force it into some grotesque abstraction of itself. That, my dear, requires the hand and the eye of an artist. 🙂

        February 11, 2012 at 2:14 am

        • Thank you, thank you, George. I’m grateful because it means so much that you take the time to notice and comment on the process!

          February 11, 2012 at 2:31 am

  7. I gotta say that they all are so nice, and different.
    Each one has something that make it unique and special!!
    My favorite is the second one, but still the other ones are so great!!

    February 11, 2012 at 5:03 am

  8. gweaverii

    I hope you don’t mind. I shared “The Scream” in a post on my blog. The post is called “Before I Forget”. I listed the URL for your photo, but I didn’t quite know how to link directly to it. I just did the best I could. I wanted to share your blog with my few followers. I’m new to this so I make mistakes.
    🙂

    February 11, 2012 at 7:08 am

    • I’m really grateful, George. Thank you. It’s a wonderful gesture. I’ll look forward to seeing the post. I can send you some quick directions, if you’d like, just so you know for future reference, for how to create a hyperlink.

      February 11, 2012 at 11:55 am

  9. This pictures have a very post modern feeling to them. I like their simplicity and straight forward appeal. You have a good eye to be able to catch these everyday small details. I like the B&W better, because the graphics works better, it’s more abstract and more contrasty. Great work.

    February 11, 2012 at 9:52 am

    • Thank you very much. I wondered about the B&W… I’m glad you think it works. I really appreciate your feedback!

      February 11, 2012 at 11:56 am

  10. Dad

    Hi Melanie, Great photos. I think that what you have are photos of the back side of the steel aircraft landing mats used during WWII to make temporary airfields. We had a few hundred of these scattered around the wooded hillsides of our Tama Hills recreation complex in Japan. They were “loaned” to the Boy Scouts to use as campsite bases.

    February 12, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    • I’m not sure, Dad, if they’d be the same thing, since these photos are of stepping points on railway car, unless the landing mats were recycled for use on railway cars??

      February 13, 2012 at 1:20 am

      • Dad

        You’re probably right, Melanie. The mats I’m thinking of are some 4′ by 8′–maybe even bigger.

        February 13, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Comments and Suggestions

