Flowers—Lines—Ice

My Railway Adventure, Part II

 

22 responses

  1. Impressive images and they are beautiful too.
    You are the threat to the abstract painters and
    demonstrating your class of its own !

    February 7, 2012 at 11:27 am

    • I do really enjoy abstract images. It was fun to see these railroad tracks at such different angles. Thank you, Yoshizen, for you nice words.

      February 7, 2012 at 11:42 am

  2. gweaverii

    These shots are just fantastic! I REALLY like the composition and your unique interpretation of them.

    February 7, 2012 at 11:35 am

  3. Upon seeing the first photograph I made a happy sound!

    February 7, 2012 at 12:32 pm

  4. Wonderful! Love all the compositions and colours and texture.

    February 7, 2012 at 2:01 pm

    • Thank you, Karen. These tracks offer lots of opportunity for experiment.

      February 7, 2012 at 3:00 pm

  5. Great series!

    February 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  6. Lovely!

    February 7, 2012 at 3:13 pm

  7. Excellent series!!
    The pictures from today give more like a sense of depth.
    I really like them Melanie.
    Nicely done!

    February 7, 2012 at 6:22 pm

    • Thank you, Pablo. I had fun experimenting with DOF with these shots.

      February 7, 2012 at 6:45 pm

  8. All great images Melanie…particulary like images 2 and 7

    February 7, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    • Thanks, Steve. Is it the colors in 2 and 7; the fact that the rust is a bit more pronounced, set off by the blue?

      February 7, 2012 at 10:50 pm

  9. Cool to see all those different angles. The takes I like best are the ones with the most color contrast, but most of all the ones with sharp foregounds and deeply receding backgrounds. Fine series!

    February 7, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    • Thanks so much, Tom. I really appreciate your comment. Once I started looking, I started to see angles and colors in the tracks that I hadn’t really noticed before. I guess that’s what happens when we spend time examining a subject close up!

      February 8, 2012 at 12:42 am

  10. Photos 2,4 and 7 are so amazing! I want them for my office.

    February 9, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  11. Beautiful abstracts. If I had to pick a favorite it would be #2.

    February 10, 2012 at 12:09 am

    • I’m so glad you like the second one… I felt like I was going a bit out on a limb with that one, but there was something about that angle that really interested me.

      February 10, 2012 at 12:33 am

Comments and Suggestions

