Flowers—Lines—Ice

New Treasures

These images are the first in a series I’ll be posting this week of what for me was a grand adventure to a semi-abandoned (if not totally abandoned) railway.  I felt like a kid again (well, I almost always feel like a kid when I’m out exploring) as I was running all over  the tracks, practically shouting with glee upon discovery of all its rusty treasures.  I took tons of photographs.  I’ll try not to post them ALL here, but I’ll post some of my favorites.  Today:  bolts and screws!

38 responses

  1. How impressive! Good photos.

    February 6, 2012 at 11:16 am

    • I’m glad you like them, Coco. Thank you for your kind words!

      February 6, 2012 at 1:04 pm

  2. Hey !!!! Don’t forget to mention the Split Pins…they will feel unloved 😉

    Great shots…I love rust and decay (as you have seen in my Blog)…looks like you have found a treasure trove there

    February 6, 2012 at 11:26 am

    • Right, right: the split pins. They add such a nice detail to some of the images, too! How could I forget them!

      I know you’re a fan of rust, too… there is something so fascinating about it. There is plenty of it at this location I’ve happened upon, so you’re going to see quite a bit of it over the next few days. 🙂

      February 6, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  3. I particularly like the angle of the 1st, the 7th and the last two photographs; probably because I experience more ‘openness’ in them, allowing me to finish in my own mind what you are saying; probably also because these images of objects can be read as landscapes as well. I like that ambivalence.

    February 6, 2012 at 11:40 am

  4. Maman

    Melanie, the colors are fantastic. Very wabi-sabi. Some of the parts in color could even be pottery, instead of iron. Beautiful.

    Love, Maman

    February 6, 2012 at 1:03 pm

    • Maman, I’m so glad you like these. I love your thought about wabi-sabi. The colors in real life are impressive: it’s wonderful that decay can be so beautiful.

      February 6, 2012 at 1:09 pm

    • HA HA!! Wabi-sabi! HA!! Love it. They are wabi-sabi. Hi Maman!

      February 6, 2012 at 7:04 pm

  5. carl Johnson

    I like these shots. Very interesting. Good perspective.

    February 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    • Thanks, Carl! And thanks for dropping in to leave a comment.

      February 6, 2012 at 2:38 pm

  6. I can almost hear your gleeful squeals! You saved the best for last (that’s the one I like most), but the first one is right up there with it. What a visual playground!

    February 6, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    • I had so much fun. I kept hearing myself saying, much like Lola (of Charlie and Lola… a brilliant British book and animated series for children): “Happy, happy!” “Happy, happy!”… I did bookend the the collection here with my favorites, so it looks like we like the same ones.

      February 6, 2012 at 4:01 pm

  7. Julie

    These are beautiful and their color does give them a clay-like quality. You are so right that getting close to something enables us a unique and different way of seeing and appreciating it.

    February 6, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    • Thank you, Julie. There is a clay-like quality to these. They’re very interesting to touch, as well as see.

      February 6, 2012 at 5:24 pm

  8. Excellent photos!!
    The first one and the # 9 are great, love the texture of them!
    I remembered so much about you because I trespassed a fence on day 115, to shoot at the bird of the photo and it was private property, it was funny because I never thought I could do something like that 🙂

    February 6, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    • Ha ha ha! That’s great, Pablo. Together we’ll grow bolder and bolder through these projects! 🙂 All for the sake of art!

      Glad you like 1 and 9. An abandoned railroad track has so many different and wonderful textures to offer. I just hope I can do them justice!

      February 6, 2012 at 5:28 pm

  9. Ooh, corrosion creates such lovely textures and colors, which you’ve captured here wonderfully.

    February 6, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • Thank you, Sarah. Corrosion, in some cases, is a beautiful thing!

      February 6, 2012 at 8:23 pm

  10. Terrific detail in these. Wonderful shots.

    February 6, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • Thank you, Edith. It’s the details that interest me the most!

      February 6, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  11. Love the colors on the first one, but my favorite is the 5th. Excellent composition, and I love the effect. How can I get a print?

    February 6, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    • POUPIE! Thank you! Glad you like the 5th one. I’ll look into getting you a print, how about that?

      February 6, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  12. Kevin Alexander

    I truly love rustic shots. One of these days I will have to try it out.

    February 7, 2012 at 2:37 am

    • Thank you so much for visiting, Kevin. You should definitely give this a try. Go out on an adventure!

      February 7, 2012 at 3:27 am

  13. myfullresearch

    Hi !
    I’m not able to create such shots, and – believe me – I’d like to take them, because I do like details.
    Sincere compliments.
    mfr

    February 9, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Thank you so much! I really appreciate your comment. I just took a quick visit to your blog, and can’t wait to discover more. Thank you for stopping by.

      February 9, 2012 at 6:14 pm

  14. These are really lovely and quite evocative. You have a great eye. Number five is my favorite of the bunch but I love them all!

    February 10, 2012 at 12:12 am

    • Thank you so much, Caryn, for taking the time to leave comments. I’m really grateful.

      February 10, 2012 at 12:35 am

  15. Dad

    I loved all the rust, bolts, cotterpins, etc. Nonetheless, I couldn’t resist applying Mae Jean’s query about “. . . tons of photos.” How much is that in kilos? She and I have found that the word “tons” has crept into so many non-weighty environs that they have begun to look for a more accurate superlative. Anyone?

    February 12, 2012 at 9:03 pm

  16. very nice and different sort of approach to a mundane subject

    February 19, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    • Thank you, Joseph, for these nice words. I’m grateful for the feedback.

      February 19, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  17. elmediat

    Excellent compositions ! Beautiful & effective use of colour & texture. You should also tag this post under art & steampunk . 🙂

    March 4, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • Thank you so much. 🙂 You have no idea how much your encouragement means. I am still very much a beginner with so much to learn (one reason I find your own blog so inspiring, not to mention the stunning images there and the very generous and open atmosphere.)

      March 4, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Comments and Suggestions

