Flowers—Lines—Ice

In celebration…

Photo Credit:  Sandy G. Connolly

Well, today is a special day for me.  I am honored to accept two blogging awards.

I was quite moved to be recognized by fellow-photographer Pablo Buitrago, who nominated me for the One Lovely Blog Award:

Pablo inspires and motivates me everyday with his creative and disciplined approach to photography.  Not only do I learn from the work he posts each day, but from the wealth of information about his subjects that he posts (both in English and in Spanish) along with his photographs.  If you aren’t already familiar with his blog, I urge you to check it out here: http://pablobuitrago365.wordpress.com) You’re sure to be inspired by what you find there.  I’ve been very grateful to Pablo for the time he has taken to comment on my own posts here.  It’s through these exchanges with fellow bloggers that we can motivate and challenge one another, and I’ve really enjoyed that. Thank you, Pablo!

To formally accept this award, I must simply tell a little about myself and then pass on the award to other photographers that I would like to recognize.

This post is an enormous leap for me because I am extraordinarily introverted.  My family will be in shock that I am actually following through on this, but here we go:

A little bit:

I thought I’d share first what I really look like.  On my “about page,” I am dressed in a bit of disguise (the result of a day of family dress-up with my sister, her children, and my 3-year-old daughter).  These pictures below (and the one at the top of this post) are from another “family dress-up day,” but this time of another sort:  my mother, sister, and I were all doing “portrait shots,” wearing the clothes (and jewelry) of our great-great grandmother.  The clothes date to the late 1800s.  These and the other photographs, which I will post on my about page, were taken by my sister, Sandy G. Connolly, who pulled together, with some impressive ingenuity, a makeshift studio to pull off this shoot.   Here is a link to the professional photography website that she shares with her business partner Irene Liebler:  http://www.super9studios.com/

Photo Credits:  Sandy G. Connolly

For fun, I’ve got to include this photograph of “THE HAT” (you’ll also see that while I’m introverted, I also live up to the description I include of myself with my “gravatar”…).  I’m going to post this photograph in its full size because my ancestor’s hat deserves no less:

Photo Credit:  Sandy G. Connolly

Moving on to fulfilling the requirements of the award, here are some of the basics about me:  I am 41 years-old.   I have an incredible life partner with whom I am sharing the utterly mind-boggling, breathtaking, wondrous experience of raising a child.  I’m a professor of French language and literature at a small women’s college.  I am a literary translator and scholar.  (Seeing the photograph above, it’s hard to take any of the sentences I just wrote in this paragraph with any seriousness.  The next paragraph, however, might make a bit more sense??)

Now for a few miscellaneous facts about me: When I am not working, I am playing, playing, playing (and not just with my daughter) or studying.  I’m a bit of video game geek (well, basically, I’m a geek all around). I have a DS.  I am also crazy about i-Technology…. I have been studying Japanese for years.  My goal is to one day read The Tale of Genji (源氏物語)  in the original 11th century Japanese.  When I’m not playing and studying, I am practicing yoga or going on long walks.  I also have a strong interest in tea.  I don’t just drink tea, I aspire to study and “live” tea.  I have a particular interest in Chinese green tea.  My daily favorites include lung ching, pi lo chun, and tongyu mountain.  I think it’s obvious from my photographs that I am a nature lover.  I am also devoted to the rights and welfare of animals.

There!  I think that’s enough!

As indicated by the rules, I must now nominate other photographers with whom I’d like to share this award.  Here they are below.  And, friends, I will not be offended in the slightest if you are unable or uninterested in following through on accepting the award.  I simply would like to take a moment to recognize you for the incredible work you do and the inspiration you offer through your blog:

http://theunperceived.wordpress.com/

http://xanderswan.wordpress.com/

http://denziljennings.wordpress.com/

http://aspectsimages.wordpress.com/

http://jimwork.com/

There’s more still! (I don’t think I have ever in my life revealed so much about myself at one time.) I have the great pleasure to accept the Versatile Blogger Award:

I’ll follow the rules, as stated by the very kind person who nominated me for this award, and will simply go in order.

RULE 1 – thank the person who nominated you and link to their blog.

Pamela, thank you so much for nominating me.  I was surprised and honored by the recognition.  I’ve really enjoyed my visits to your blog:  http://pamelavphotoblog.wordpress.com/

RULE 2 – Share 7 random things about yourself.

Are you ready?

1.  I am fascinated by the pupils of goats:  they are rectangular instead of round.  There is something pleasingly disconcerting to me about this.

2.  I frequently  bump into trees and poles while walking because I’m looking down at the ground hoping some fantastic insect or plant will catch my eye.

3.  For reasons only my siblings and dad will understand, I keep myself in tip-top form as a competitive player of Rock-Paper-Scissors.

4.  I am a roller-coaster enthusiast.

5.  I have an uncommon passion for peanut butter.

6.  I find 90-degree angles calming (and, as a result, have an enormous collection of orange Rhodia graph notebooks).

7.  I love Hello Kitty.

RULE 3 – Select 15 blogs or bloggers you have recently discovered or follow regularly and nominate them for the Versatile Blogger Award.

Gang, I nominate you wholeheartedly because I am either a delighted newcomer to your blog and admire your work or I am a regular and devoted follower  of your blog and want others to discover your site if they are not already familiar with it.  I will absolutely understand if you are not interested in following up on the rules of receipt…

http://phranksphotos.com/

http://microfishing.wordpress.com/

http://freefilly51.wordpress.com/

http://photolancaster.wordpress.com/

http://ngyimhontom.wordpress.com/

http://niltsi.com/

http://instamaticgratification.wordpress.com/

http://btweenblinks.wordpress.com/

http://iconlux.wordpress.com/

http://luxe64.wordpress.com/

http://therightmood.wordpress.com/

http://krikitarts.wordpress.com/

http://loniduekart.wordpress.com/

http://daphot75.wordpress.com/

http://haikumages.com/

Congratulations to all!

RULE 4 – inform the bloggers they have been nominated.

I’ll take care of it!  I’m going to sign off here, because I’m sure you all have had enough of ME!

48 responses

  1. Lovely studio shots…great to see the face behind the blog

    January 29, 2012 at 11:23 am

  2. ….and thank you so much for the nomination…now what can I say about myself that won’t send people to sleep 😉

    January 29, 2012 at 11:24 am

    • You’re welcome, Steve! I’ll look forward to your acceptance post. 🙂

      January 29, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  3. Congrats. I have never read 源氏物語 although I’m Japanese. I should read it.

    January 29, 2012 at 11:32 am

    • Thank you! I have read The Tale of Genji in English and loved it. I can only imagine how beautiful it must be in the original.

      January 29, 2012 at 1:59 pm

  4. Congratulations Melanie!
    I’m happy to know alll of those fun things about you … Especially roller coasters and Hello Kitty. Well done!

    January 29, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  5. Congrats to you for your awards. And I LOVE the pic of you in that hat!

    January 29, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • Thanks, Rumpy! That picture captures the ME I know best. 😉

      January 29, 2012 at 2:45 pm

  6. Congratulations on the awards. You are very brave. I will let you take the roller coasters 🙂 however I understand your walking into things while clicking. I am a peanut butter fan too. Thanks for the info on goats’ pupils being square. Learned something new, and now I want to look at all my goat pix again.
     
    Love that hat! What a brilliant photo. So fun.
    Thanks for sharing & congrats again!

    January 29, 2012 at 4:07 pm

    • Thanks so much, Kris, for this fun and thoughtful reply to my post for today! My sister will be glad you like the “HAT” photo. 🙂 So glad to learn you’re a peanut butter fan, too. Definitely check out the goats’ pupils–they’re really something to behold!

      January 29, 2012 at 4:17 pm

      • I looked, and you are right! An early post of mine was a close-up of a goat’s head. Didn’t notice its square pupils until you said so. Blogging is a great way to learn new things. Thanks for sharing!

        February 11, 2012 at 10:24 pm

        • I would love to see the photograph. Could you tell me which post it was? Those rectangular pupils are so fascinating, aren’t they? 🙂

          February 11, 2012 at 11:17 pm

      • You can get there by clicking on the name ‘pix & kardz’ that appears beside my gravatar immediately above this comment. Am sure you will see the square pupils there too 🙂

        February 11, 2012 at 11:42 pm

    • thanks! something i will have to watch out for in future the next time i look at goats.
      who knew 🙂
      i meant rectangular, not square, btw 🙂

      February 12, 2012 at 12:48 am

  7. Lemony, thank you so much for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger! ^_^

    January 29, 2012 at 5:58 pm

    • You are VERY welcome, Yasmine! You deserve it! You do wonderful things with your blog! Your photographs of horses are absolutely stunning.

      January 29, 2012 at 5:59 pm

      • Aw, can’t thank you enough! 😀

        January 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm

  8. Oh, and big, BIG congrats on receiving the awards! You very much deserve them, your photography as well as you as a person are amazing 🙂

    January 29, 2012 at 6:02 pm

  9. Great to finally “know” you. 🙂

    January 29, 2012 at 6:44 pm

  10. Congrats on your recognition, and thank you very much for the nomination! I always look forward to your posts. I didn’t even know awards like this existed. I’ve only been a member of the WordPress community for a few months now, but I definitely love it! I will work on my acceptance post, but it won’t be nearly as interesting as yours.

    January 29, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    • Thanks, Denzil. So glad you’re happy to be recognized, too! You deserve it!

      January 29, 2012 at 11:59 pm

  11. Pingback: The One Lovely Blog Award « Denzil Jennings Photography

  12. Lovely photos Melanie, you have beautiful eyes!

    I enjoyed reading more about you, it’s very nice to get to know a bit more the people who you interact with online.

    Thanks for the words you wrote about me 🙂 I’m just so grateful.

    Looking forward to your next post 🙂

    January 30, 2012 at 12:40 am

    • Thank you, Pablo, for your nice words. I meant everything I wrote about you!

      January 30, 2012 at 11:10 am

  13. I thank you so much for nominating me with the Versatile Blogger.
    This is the second time I have the honor to receive this reward.
    I am grateful to you for your kindness.

    January 30, 2012 at 3:23 pm

    • You are welcome! It’s certainly well deserved. All my best wishes to you!

      January 30, 2012 at 3:35 pm

  14. Thank you so so much!
    My pleasure to accept it
    The hat picture is fantastic!!
    😉

    January 31, 2012 at 3:11 am

    • You’re welcome! I’m glad you accept. Glad you like the hat photo! It captures my inner “kook” 🙂

      January 31, 2012 at 11:57 am

  15. I am honored to have received your nomination and will be very happy to accept. I’m working on preparing an appropriate post. Thank you so very much!

    January 31, 2012 at 5:56 am

    • That’s wonderful, Gary. You are very welcome. I’ll look forward to your post!

      January 31, 2012 at 11:58 am

  16. Congratulations!

    And thank you so much for your nomination of my site, as well. I’ve had a hectic few days, but I’m working on a post responding. It’s taking a while because there are quite a few things that I want to say. (I’m a wordy sort!)

    February 1, 2012 at 3:43 pm

    • Ohhh good, I like wordy. I’ll look foward to your acceptance post! Take your time!

      February 1, 2012 at 5:15 pm

  17. Congratulations, Melanie, on receiving such well-deserved recognition. And thank you so much for nominating me for the Versatile Blogger Award. I am truly honored. This post is charming. I love the photos and the family collaboration behind them. What a great idea. It’s nice to finally “meet” you. Thanks again!

    February 10, 2012 at 12:50 am

    • Thank you, Caryn! I am so glad you discovered the award I had passed on to you! I had been meaning to contact you about it, and somehow got lost on my list and wasn’t sure whom I had contacted and whom I hadn’t!! I enjoy your blog so much, and really look forward to your posts. You have such an interesting perspective and your photographs are beautiful!

      February 10, 2012 at 12:09 pm

  18. Beautiful blog .
    Congratulations with your nomination fot the awards

    February 15, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    • Thank you so much! And thank you for stopping by! I was so glad to find your blog, and look forward to future posts!

      February 15, 2012 at 6:17 pm

  19. When coming across a blog that is new to me, I usually check out the about page, and a few posts in order to know what interests the blogger. In looking around your blog, it was hard to understand who you were. But when I found this post, celebration, I got a much better picture, and I wish to thank you for that. I especially liked the photos of your sister, Sandy. I think they were very well done. It helps to know that you are introverted. This is something that I might have grasped easily if I were in your presence, but looking at some of the pictures you posted, I didn’t realize. My best wishes to you, and looking forward to getting to know you better.

    February 28, 2012 at 5:57 am

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to visit my blog, Shimon. I am really touched that you would do that. I enjoyed exploring yours and was very interested in your posts (which is why I subscribed!) I’m very much looking forward to future posts and exchanges. All my best!

      February 28, 2012 at 11:26 am

  20. Congratulations. Well deserved. Fun to read about you, and I LOVE your hat!

    March 30, 2012 at 4:03 pm

    • Thank you! Yes, isn’t my great-great grandmother’s hat FUN?! I can’t imagine where she actually wore this. 🙂

      March 31, 2012 at 12:41 am

Comments and Suggestions

