Flowers—Lines—Ice

Wheels on a Wagon

I drive through beautiful farmlands on my way to an animal shelter in central PA where I volunteer once a week (see my other blog devoted to my work at the shelter:  http://lemonysqueezes.wordpress.com). Inspired by fellow-blogger and photographer Denzil Jennings, who, both by his stellar example (http://denziljennings.wordpress.com) and his words of encouragement, I decided to pull my car over on the highway and step out of the vehicle, and, (gasp!) on to the property (!) to take some shots.

I’ve passed by and admired the wooden wagon featured here countless times, wishing I could take some photographs of it.  Well, now I’ve finally done it.  However, once I was there, I really struggled to figure out exactly what I was aiming for.  If you’re  a follower of this blog, you’ve probably noticed I have a strong interest in abstract macro photography.  How, then, to get a handle on the fascinating lines, shapes and shadows of this very large wagon?  I worked my way from large to small.  The more I zeroed in, the the happier I became (naturally!).  It was the wheels that enchanted me most:  their spokes, and especially their hubs, so spectacularly rusted.

I’ll show my shots in reverse order.

Wheel Hub 1

Wheel Hub 2

Wheel Hub 3

"Spokes"

Wheels and Shadows

Wagon Wheels

The Wooden Wagon

20 responses

  1. I like the spokes and the shadows. Congratulations on trespassing!

    January 28, 2012 at 12:26 pm

  2. Maman

    Melanie, this is a fascinating way to “zoom in” on your subject. I think the closeup colors are just beautiful and really look like abstract art. Love, Maman

    January 28, 2012 at 1:36 pm

  3. sandy

    Love every shot ,especially the first two. Blue is my color!!

    January 28, 2012 at 3:28 pm

    • I’m glad you like them, Sandy. I think have a “blue” gene, actually. My mother is quite passionate about the color blue. I grew up surrounded by blues of every shade. Her house in Maine is an absolute celebration of blue… Naturally, I have a fondness for the color, too.

      January 28, 2012 at 6:10 pm

  4. Good work, I love the closeups and the old wagon.

    January 28, 2012 at 4:11 pm

  5. Pretty dramatic images. Very impressive.

    January 28, 2012 at 4:38 pm

  6. Great photos!!
    The texture of the first one and third one are amazing.
    And I like your idea of getting closer and posting the photos in reverse order.
    The composition of the last photo is also beautiful, the tones, the trees around the wooden… Simply amazing!

    January 28, 2012 at 5:29 pm

    • Thank you, Pablo. I wish I could have stayed all afternoon on this farm. There were so many things to see! Maybe I’ll knock on the door next time and see if they mind if I stick around a little longer. 🙂

      January 28, 2012 at 6:21 pm

  7. great shots my friend!

    January 28, 2012 at 5:45 pm

  8. You just love the close up and personal don’t you…great shot again

    January 28, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  9. The first, second and third images are my favourites; I love the colours.

    January 28, 2012 at 7:13 pm

  10. Love your shots! You capture the shadows beautifully!

    February 2, 2012 at 12:18 am

  11. Kevin Alexander

    Wow these are the type of shot I want to take one day. I love these pics!

    February 7, 2012 at 2:38 am

Comments and Suggestions

