Flowers—Lines—Ice

Big fat (vine?)

This spectacular vine, or root, actually I’m not sure which, is in a neighbor’s yard (well, a stranger’s garden–to tell the truth…. I couldn’t help myself).  My problem is I don’t know quite how to “get it.”  Sure, I’ve taken a picture of it, but I just know there must be a better way to capture this.  I took a few abstract macro images, but they don’t quite do it justice.  The colors, textures, curves, and fatness of this thing are fascinating.  How can I fit all of that good stuff into the photograph while also preserving the shape?  I’m just not satisfied with this picture, but I’m not sure how to approach it differently.

11 responses

  1. hahah made me laugh this one….such a weird shape and colour (!!!!)

    It looks like to took the shot from above? try getting right down to ground level and shoot along the right hand ‘branch’ (if that is possible)…it might give it a different perspective….in short get down and dirty

    January 23, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    • Glad you got a kick out this one. 🙂 I will definitely give your idea a try! Thank you for the suggestion!

      January 23, 2012 at 1:52 pm

  2. Fantastic !
    I’m even more intrigued by your mind-set ! ! !

    January 23, 2012 at 1:30 pm

    • Yoshizen, you are very kind. The vine is intriguing in itself!

      January 23, 2012 at 1:55 pm

  3. Black and White?

    January 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    • Well… I’ll give that a try to see how it looks (and I’ll post them next time, when I follow through on others’ suggestions) but the colors of the vine are so fabulous. In fact, I feel like they are not as rich here in the photograph as they are in real life. Going with B & W would certainly bring out the textures, though, so maybe I could offer color and B & W side by side. Thanks for the suggestion.

      January 23, 2012 at 2:28 pm

  4. Hahaha!
    A stranger’s garden 🙂
    I agree about getting down to ground level, you might get something more interesting.
    If you shoot from above next time, try to avoid the shadows, they kind of hide the texture of the branch, which is awesome!

    January 23, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    • Tee hee 🙂

      That’s a great point about the shadows, Pablo. Thanks! I will post my new effort next time I have a chance to sneak back into that person’s garden.

      January 23, 2012 at 5:31 pm

  5. I’ve gotta say this is one of my favourites so far.
    Dave

    January 23, 2012 at 8:21 pm

    • Glad you like it, Dave! We’ll see if when I re-shoot it, you like the new shots better or this one. I feel like I want to get this from a different angle.

      January 24, 2012 at 12:56 am

  6. I received some suggestions for this blog from a fellow blogger Victor Ho:

    http://photocriticism.wordpress.com/2012/01/23/vine/#comment-75

    I’m so grateful for the help! I definitely plan to try again.

    January 24, 2012 at 12:43 pm

Comments and Suggestions

