Flowers—Lines—Ice

Ablaze

Which is the better composition here?  Any preferences?

12 responses

  1. Defo the second one…..rule of thirds and all that nonsense ….

    January 22, 2012 at 7:51 pm

    • Yeah, rule of thirds… But the reason I was torn was because the sunlight was coming through more brightly straight in the first picture, and sometimes, I guess we can break the rule… But I think the “folds” are more interesting in 2nd (highlighted better by the composition allowed for by the rule of thirds)….

      January 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm

  2. Julie

    Melanie, WOW! I prefer the first image, but both are amazing. Your photos just keep getting better. I love the abstractness of your shots.

    January 22, 2012 at 7:57 pm

    • Thanks, Julie! I’m glad you enjoy the abstract nature of my photographs. I’m finding that this is a direction I’m really having a great time exploring.

      January 22, 2012 at 8:50 pm

  3. Hi – I think I prefer the second, I like the off centre composition and the fact that I can make out the shape of a bird’s head in the contours.

    I like your site, Melanie, and thanks for following mine, nice 🙂

    January 22, 2012 at 7:59 pm

    • Thanks for your comment, Jo, as well as your compliment regarding my blog. I’ve enjoyed following your blog! I love your comment about the shape of a bird’s head in the contour’s of the second photo! I hadn’t noticed that! I do usually prefer an off-center shot, but something about the first shot interested me, mainly the light was more intense and something about positioning the hole in the middle was intriguing to me, although I’m not sure why.

      January 22, 2012 at 8:54 pm

  4. Both of them are great, but I like better the second one, because of the rule of thirds, is more eye-catchy.
    Great tonalities!!

    January 22, 2012 at 9:17 pm

    • Thank you, Pablo. It sounds like most people have a preference for the second one. I’m just curious now under what circumstances it’s actually preferable to break that rule of thirds. I’ll have to explore that.

      January 23, 2012 at 1:24 am

  5. Second one. WHAT IS THAT?!?!

    January 23, 2012 at 3:07 am

    • Poupie, I knew you’d prefer the second one! It’s a close-up of a leaf hanging in some twigs with the sun shining through it.

      January 23, 2012 at 3:43 am

  6. Thanks for visiting my blog. My other blog http://photocriticism.wordpress.com
    comments upon and offers free advice and lessons. In terms of composition the second photo is more interesting if you use the rule of thirds. Either image was well exposed. It is really the photographer’s choice in the end.

    January 23, 2012 at 2:09 pm

    • I’ll check it out, Victor, thank you! I’m always eager for help and guidance.

      January 23, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Comments and Suggestions

